Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was De-lish. I made it tonight for supper for my boyfriend and I. He loved it. Im very picky about my soups and this was just amazing. I even brought some to my parents to try and they loved it as well. Will def. make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Like everyone else, I used all chicken stock instead of water, threw in some minced garlic while sautee the onions and celery, salt and pepper, and garlic salt, mashed the potatoes a tiny bit when they were tender, and threw in some bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
NOT a fan of this soup at all. Made it exactly as recipe states and it had no flavor. Was not cheesy at all. I added a lot more cheese, pepper, various spices, lots of salt, etc. and still not impressed. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've been making this for years and it's a very fulling, comforting soup. It's good with plain or cheesy bisquits. I usually make it during the winter. I don't like it as cheesy as the recipe calls for, so I set aside a little for myself before adding the cheese to the rest of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
The best. Everyone loved this one.I used chicken broth instead of water,and sharp cheese. Turned out to the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The soup was good. I agree with the other reviews in that it needed a bit more salt. I used all chicken broth instead of the water, and added a bit of the flour to the onion,celery and butter mixture. I will make it again but will add either some bacon or chopped ham, and some shredded cheddar or maybe some sharp cheddar or jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is a very delish recipe!! My sister and I added slices of beef smoked sausage when the onions were carmalizing and boy is it the best soup ever!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINNSALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This soup was WONDERFUL! I used half chicken broth and half water. Also, I followed someone elses idea and crumbled bacon in it...YUM! Oh yeah...instead of celery I used finely chopped fresh garlic and sauteed it with the onions. Made some garlic bread to go with the soup and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Delicious. I added 3 additional cups of water for more of a 'soup' feel and also chopped bacon bits served over the top make this recipe a winner. (I also used salted butter, added pepper and 2 bay leaves to the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a good potato soup. I used chicken broth instead of water and 12 oz of Velveeta cheese but it was a little bland still so I think next time I will add bacon or additional spices. I only had 1/2% milk on hand so I used that but 2% or more or adding the sour cream like others suggested would make it creamier tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States