Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was great. I deviated the recipe slightly based on tips from others on this recipe. Added garlic to the celery, onion sautee mixture. Used cheddar instead of American cheese or Velveeta. Added diced ham. Served in a bread bowl with freshly diced tomatoes, a little shredded cheddar and fresh parsley. My first time making soup and it definitely won't be the last. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is sooo good. Its now my standard and my husband always requests that I double the recipe so he can have as much as he wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is the best tasting potatoe soup I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Extra tasty. I left the parsley out, and added some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlechef
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Yummmm! I am so glad I found this recipe. I love cheese and after having cheese soup at a local restaurant, I thought I would try making my own. This soup is even better than the restaurant one! I did make a few changes after reading some reviews. I used salted butter and substituted half the amount of water with chicken broth to give it some flavor. I also added some green onions on top instead of parsley. This one is definitely a keeper. Will make often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Wonderful! I added finely diced carrots in with the potatoes and garnished with sour cream and bacon. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was really good and easy to make.. I made it on a rainy day and it was good to warm up to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This recipe has the basics down. I did lot's of changes and then it was GREAT! I used SALTED BUTTER... cause this receipe REALLY NEEDS SALT! While cooking veggies, I added minced garlic. I used chicken stock and added lots of salt and pepper. I didn't have cheese slices, so I used Mild Chedder and Monterrey Jack and even sprinkled some parmesean. After it all melted, I added a cup of heavy cream instead of flour, which made it so tasty and rich. (I think I will have cup in a few minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda5881

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corie g
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i loved this recipe. The only thing i changed was to thicken instead of flour i used 3 tbs (depending on thickness you want) of instant mashed potato flakes. It got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
We LOVED this soup. I followed the directions exactly, but didn't have sliced cheese. So I used Velveeta instead. It's the best potato soup recipe I've made. This has definately become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States