Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this for a party and everyone had seconds! Thanks for a delicious soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made this twice - first time as is - okay. Next time, used suggestion to make it with chicken broth instead of water. When potatoes were cooked, I did lightly mash some of them to add thickness to the soup. I tried about 1-1/2 c. shredded swiss cheese in place of the american slices and added about 1 c. diced ham and a few cooked crumbled slices of bacon. Plenty of salt in it already, but did add ground black pepper. HOME RUN!!!! Yummmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My two toddlers, husband and I all enjoyed this soup! It was cheesy, velvety and hearty. I snuck in some carrots. I steamed them in the microwave. Then I pureed them with a little of the potato water and a big spoonful of cooked potato chunks. It was a great way to add more vitamins... and it thickened the soup also. I served this with some homemade bread and a salad with bleu cheese & garlic vinaigrette. It was a fantastic meal for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Won't make this again. I tried the crock pot version and it was tasteless, to watery. No thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wonderfully easy soup and yummy! My son even liked it and he's hard to please. We added toppings of bacon, green onions, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
this soup was great! substituted 2 cups cheddar cheese and added leftover christmas ham....and it was a HIT!!! Definitely a keepr at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this recipe last week for my family. I did change a few things though. I omitted the celery because hubby does not like it. I used a combination of Velveeta & cheddar instead of sliced American cheese. I used chicken broth instead of water and I used evaporated milk as opposed to the other. I added salt, black pepper and onion salt. I added chopped ham and bacon bits. The soup turned out great and my family of 4 (and one guest) ate it all up in just 2 days! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Fantastic soup. Made a few changes- Omitted the onions (hubby doesn't like them), added garlic, thyme, and oregano while sauteing. Used cheddar instead of american cheese. Big hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The slices of American cheese did not add good flavor to the soup. I would add both a better quality cheese and less of it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Definitely add garlic, sour cream, salt and pepper! And I substituted half the water for chicken broth and cheddar instead of American, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States