Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My two toddlers, husband and I all enjoyed this soup! It was cheesy, velvety and hearty. I snuck in some carrots. I steamed them in the microwave. Then I pureed them with a little of the potato water and a big spoonful of cooked potato chunks. It was a great way to add more vitamins... and it thickened the soup also. I served this with some homemade bread and a salad with bleu cheese & garlic vinaigrette. It was a fantastic meal for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Won't make this again. I tried the crock pot version and it was tasteless, to watery. No thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wonderfully easy soup and yummy! My son even liked it and he's hard to please. We added toppings of bacon, green onions, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
this soup was great! substituted 2 cups cheddar cheese and added leftover christmas ham....and it was a HIT!!! Definitely a keepr at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this recipe last week for my family. I did change a few things though. I omitted the celery because hubby does not like it. I used a combination of Velveeta & cheddar instead of sliced American cheese. I used chicken broth instead of water and I used evaporated milk as opposed to the other. I added salt, black pepper and onion salt. I added chopped ham and bacon bits. The soup turned out great and my family of 4 (and one guest) ate it all up in just 2 days! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Fantastic soup. Made a few changes- Omitted the onions (hubby doesn't like them), added garlic, thyme, and oregano while sauteing. Used cheddar instead of american cheese. Big hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The slices of American cheese did not add good flavor to the soup. I would add both a better quality cheese and less of it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Definitely add garlic, sour cream, salt and pepper! And I substituted half the water for chicken broth and cheddar instead of American, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
this was amazing.. i did the whole 2 cup chicken broth two cups water and ti really help with the flavor. it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very yummy! I added a little salt and pepper, and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States