Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This soup was great. I followed the suggestion of other users and used half chicken broth and half water. I also added about 10 pieces of cooked, crumbled bacon to it, as well as about a cup of chopped broccoli. And oh yeah-- I made this in the slow cooker. I cooked the potatoes, water, broth, onions and celery on "Low" for about 6 hours. (When the potatoes were tender.) I then stirred it up a bit with a fork to break the potatoes up and make a thicker soup. Then I added the cheese, and once it was melted, I added the milk/flour mixture, the bacon and the broccoli. I kept it heated until it thickened, and it was perfect for a cool day. Thank you! Note: If you decide to go the slow cooker route, it is important that you don't add the milk or cheese until the end. Otherwise, everything seperates and looks kind of gross. I also chose to wait to add the broccoli because it can easily overcook in the time it takes potatoes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Excellent - almost like a homemade macaroni and cheese, but with potatoes instead of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Thanks Joan, my daughter loved this. Next time I will add broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Excellent soup for a cozy winter evening. Used velveeta, carrots and garlic as suggested by others. Next time I make it I will make it exactly the same way. The Velveeta cheese makes it sooo creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Helgerson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
easy to make, absolutely delicious!! Used the chicken broth in place of water, couple tablespoons of minced garlic, velveeta cheese and bacon...my husband and children LOVED it...they ate the whole pot up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Wow! This is exactly what I think of when I crave potato soup! This soup is thick and creamy and very easy to make. My boyfriend loved it, and so did my mom and I! I definatly reccommend this recipe to anyone who loves potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe for a cold winter day! I would suggest adding some bacon and/or bacon bits when serving! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This soup turned out great. I was skeptical of the american cheese slices, but they melt very smoothly and not oily. I used the other reviewer's advice and used half water and half chicken broth. It doubled beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCQUEARY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was very good - but I think the garlic that I added went a long way in adding flavor. I gave it 4 stars because my 11-year-old did not like it much, but my other two younger children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Excellent soup! Very easy to make with very few ingredients. I added a few cloves of chopped garlic to the onions and celery and it was great! My husband gave it two thumbs up and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States