Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was really good and perfect for a cold night. I used velveeta instead of the cheese slices, and used all chicken stock instead of the water. I also doubled the cheese because my husband and I both like it cheesy! Really easy and I had all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good and easy to make soup. Everyone liked it, even the kids. I used one can of chicken broth and one can of water which was suggested in the reviews and it worked out really well. I also used 1/2 a block of velveeta. It's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is my favorite potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Alright, I took the advice of using half water half broth. I did not have slice cheese on hand, or enough cheese. I grated half a one pound block of cheese, and maybe 6-7 deli slices of swiss cheese. I must not have melted the cheese correctly, because it started to ball up. So, what I did do is I added a packet of "just add hot water!" potato flakes, cheese flavor. I also added chopped broccoli and a handful of baby carrots. As you can imagine, my soup is more like mashed potatoes, and it tastes great. I'm sure I can add water or more broth to make it more soup like. I definitely agree that this recipe has great potential. This was also my first time making soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
was excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Yummy! I took the advice of another user and used 2 c. chicken broth and 2c. water instead of 4c. of water. Also added frozen broccoli, garlic granules, and used Velveeta intead of American Cheese. Great on a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Great for a cold summer night. I did add abit of onion salt or it might be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toa Payoh, Central Region, Singapore
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I added garlic, chicken boullion and used velveeta cheese. It was scrumptious!! One mistake I made was that I didn't let the potatoes get soft enough before I added the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I was so disappointed when I sat down to enjoy this. It was so bland. I followed the recipe as is and wish I would have seen the other reviews BEFORE making this. It turned out too runny, and I had to mash up some of the potatoes to thicken it. I had to add lots of salt and pepper to make it enjoyable. And the american cheese didn't really do it for this recipe. Cheddar, or Velveeta, would suit it better I believe. Definitely listen to the other reviews that suggest adding the other things, like chicken broth, etc., to spicen it up. I will try this recipe again; however, I will make many adjustments. It has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I made just a few revisions. Potato soup just doesn't get better than this! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States