Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Wow this soup turned out great!! I followed Dorese's modifications plus my own - used a slow cooker for about 6 hours on low(water, chicken broth,onions celery & potatoes) when tender added cheese - when melted added flour and milk mixture (added cornstarch also i like thick soups) then crumbled bacon and corn. It was wonderful. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did make changes I used 1/2 the potatoes added ham, brocolli, provalone and a little parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Wish I could give this one 10 stars. It will be on my list of favorite recipes and I have been cooking for many years. I used Velveeta for the American cheese slices and could get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Wow this was great! Although I made some changes. I was afraid it would be bland so I added seasonings, as the recipe does not call for any. Ok, so here is what I did, I followed the recipe up until the potatoes were tender. I then added garlic salt, salt, pepper, and a little bit of lemon pepper. I used sharp cheaddar cheese instead of the sliced cheese. I just bought a 1/2 lb chunk, diced it up, and threw it in when recomended to. I ended up having to add more milk, as there was not enough liquid. This was yummy! I served with baguettes from my local grocery store. You must try this. Not sure if my family would have liked it without all the seasoning I added, but that is up to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
WOW WOW WOW!! SO YUMMY!! My hubby and I both really enjoyed it! I took reviewers advice and added a chicken boullion cube and chicken broth rather than just water. Also added some minced garlic. I topped it off with bacon bits sour cream and shredded cheese. A++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe! I'm glad I read the reviews before making, as I did make a few changes: I used a whole stick of salted butter, also added ground black pepper, garlic salt, and dried parsley and used sharp cheddar cheese vs. American. Got out my trusty potato masher and mashed up the potatoes before I added the cheese. Also took the advice of other readers and used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of chicken broth. For garnishes I put out garlic and cheese croutons and Durkee french fried onions and served with a loaf of garlic toast. Very, very good! Would definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
The soup was great I added garlic and chopped bacon with the onion and didn't use celery I also replaced chicken broth with the water. My husband said it was the best soup he had ever had . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Laymance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this for my family and it was great for a quick dinner. I did change some things as others suggested, I used 4c chicken stalk instead of water, salted butter, no onions (DH doesn't do onions) I used a bit of onion powder instead (what he doesnt know won't hurt him right!), also some garlic powder, velveta instead of cheese slices and cooked up some bacon to put on top. It tasted very good - but I think if I would have follwed the recipe it would have been very bland. I will def make this again but I will keep my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
needs a little more kick...i added garlic...but otherwise delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This soup is great and I've made it several times. I like my soup a little runnier, so I tend to add more milk or a bit of water to thin it out, but that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States