Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
really bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was ok. I don't have a scale so I just guessed at what 2 pounds of potatoes was. I think I used too many because it wasn't really creamy. Kind of dry. I think it would be better if I used the correct amount of potatoes. I'll try it again and re-rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The salad tasted better warm and was a little dry once it had cooled. I reduced the sugar to 1T, increased the bacon to 2T, replaced the onion with a dash of onion powder and also added a dash of celery seed, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. It was good and I will probably make it again, although I may add a little more sour cream and mayo next time. Also, I used light sour cream and light mayo and it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was my first ever attempt at making potato salad and it was great. I left out the sugar and added diced celery and regular onions, salt and pepper. Used oscar meyer bacon bits on top before eating. Doesn't really need the extra cheese on top either, good witout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I made it without the sugar and used a sauteed sweet onion instead of green onion. I also used low-fat mayo and sour cream... still very tasty! People loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this recipe was great very tasty was a big hit, will be doing that again for sure, thanx. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanna.b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Widnes, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrea Rose
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Just made this for dinner tonight - This is an amazing alternative to traditional potato salad! I added chopped celery as another reviewer recommended and the crunch was a great addition. I didn't add the sugar (and don't think I would have liked it with the sugar) but did add salt and pepper. I think I will make this again for a BBQ this weekend. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrea Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roeland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I think what I did wrong was make this salad a day ahead. It was pretty dry. I even mixed another mayo/sour cream mixture before serving it but it wasn't as good as when I first had mixed it the day before. I omitted the sugar all together per the previous reviewers. I also used red onion instead of green b/c I didn't have any. My daughter also like the salad when it was still warm and not refrigerated. I will try this again but I won't make it ahead of time. I also added a ton of bacon bit far more than what it called for. Next time I also might add a dry ranch dressing mix to the mayo/sour cream mixture. That'll give it another kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Historically, I have not been a fan of potato salad. However, I recently had a delicious potato salad from a boutique market- turns out, I just don't like mustard-based potato salads. This recipe comes pretty close to the salad I got from the market. I left out the sugar, as other reviewers suggested, and I used real bacon. I added a tiny bit of sea salt, because I was worried that the bacon would make the salad super-salty, but it definitely needed more salt. I also added garlic powder. Very good! Even my potato salad-hating husband had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
The first time I made this my family loved it. I kept in the sugar and it gives it an unique taste. The only thing is I left out the bacon bits and let those that wanted it put it on. But I will make this at every occasion at my families request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States