Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this as is but without the bacon bits (nobody in my family likes them) and with a little less sugar and it was a hit. I feel that it was missing something (dill or garlic or something but can't put my finger on it) so will experiment next time I make it. My father however loved it so just personal preference. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Best Potato Salad I have ever made. Everyone said that it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Lawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I only added about a tbsp of sugar, and I also added garlic powder, dill, seasoning salt, and salt and pepper, and used real bacon, and I think I just eyed the cheese, so I am sure it was way more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Really really great potato salad. We crave this, and this is the only kind we make. I call it "Baked Potato" Salad, because it has all the toppings you put on a baked potato. This recipe does not need to be followed exactly in my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
As written, this is incredibly bland. I made it as stated, even though I was skeptical, and I was right. I added lots of salt and black pepper, garlic and parsley and it was much better. I ended up adding a splash of vinegar to offset the icky sweet taste from the sugar, even though I added way less. The idea was good, a 'loaded baked potato salad' but poorly executed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Loved it! I skipped the sugar and was liberal with the onions, cheese and bacon bits (I used hormel- very good, tasted fresh). I would definitely recommend this. Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy....I used all low fat options here and it was still very good....low fat sour cream, mayo, and turkey bacon....green onions are key...so dont leave them out. I also decreased the sugar to approx. 2 tblspns....maybe a lil less....and could still taste plenty of sweetness....I think the 1/4c would be overkill. A tasty potato salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
A 10 star recipe! I have never liked potato salad until now. This is like eating a loaded baked potato, but only better. The only thing I did different was to use real bacon, beacuse it is what I had on hand. The leftovers are even better the next day as the flavors have blended even more. I can't wait to take this to all the picnics this summer, as I know it is going to be a total hit. Thank you Kennedy for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
A good jumping off point, but I had to jazz it up... With my additions, it is REALLY GOOD!!! I added 1 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts paprika, 1/2 ts each salt and pepper, plus I cut the sugar to 1 TB. Mixed the "sauce" first, then just added in the "solids." 10 minutes was too long to boil, next time I will do 8-9... I can NEVER seem to get the potatoes cooked right for potato salad for some reason, I usually under-do them but this time they were slightly over-done. I also used 6 slices of bacon crumbled rather than the bits, and subbed pepperjack cause I have a brick of it right now and also thought it needed the kick. With these switcheroos it was awesome, but I think without the addition of, at a minimum, SALT and pepper this would be rather bland, even with all the yummy stuff in there... Bottom line, cut (or omit) the sugar, add seasoning and you've got a WINNER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I thought this was yummy. I followed recipe but omitted the sugar and mixed the bacon and cheese and green onions in instead of putting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States