Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by bkid
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Four stars because I modified it a bit to make it more to my taste (thanks to the reviews). Doubled the mayo, omitted the sugar, used more cheese and green onions, added salt and pepper, and used a whole package of bacon that I fried and crumbled. Turned out so good! Tastes like it's from a local deli. I did mix bacon, onion, and cheese in the salad and saved some to put on top as well for presentation. Simple recipe that's wonderful for me now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
After making a few changes, this is the best potato salad I've ever had. I completely left out the sugar. I used 1 cup mayonnaise and 1 cup sour cream. I still feel like it could have used a little more of each. I probably quadrupled the bacon, and used packaged real bacon bits (the soft kind). Finally, I added LOTS of salt and pepper and a little garlic powder. I don't know how this would even be edible without salt. Potatoes need salt! But that's just my opinion. This will probably be the only potato salad I make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a great spin on potato salad. I did not use sugar and must say it does not need it, it's perfecy]t without. If you like loaded baked potatoes you will like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My husband thought was too bland. I added salad olives which helped. I think it needs to have equal amounts of sour cream and mayo. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Was very good. Made a few modifications. Only used about 1/8 of cup sugar, used one package of oscar meyer pre-cooked bacon in packagand NOT bacon bits. mixed bacon, cheese and grn onions throughout the whole thing. Whisked mayo, sour cream and sugar, w/1 tbsp of vinegar. I brought it to a pitch in and it was all gone! Those who leave out the sugar, are missing a very important element in the taste of this. It was yummy with a reduced amount of sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Fast, easy, delicious. Left out the sugar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I brought this to an office potluck and received rave reviews. Admittedly, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Personally, I am not fond of really sweet potato salads, so I subbed some salad dressing (e.g., Miracle Whip) for some of the mayo and added no sugar. I also added a couple of tablespoons of dry ranch seasoning. It was the only dish that was completely gone when lunch was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is almost the same salad a store near me sells for $8 per lb. I did have to 'hot rod' it also: cut out the sugar, used real bacon, doubled the mayo (used Duke's-the best!) and added a tsp. of salt, onion, garlic, and chives. I also gave it two shakes of cheyanne pepper for a little depth. Then I let it chill for a few hours. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This was so yummy! Everyone loved it. Nice change from the norm~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I made some alterations to this recipe that suited our family and others have loved it! I left out the sugar and used Miracle Whip instead, I too also used real bacon, and to give it a punch added cayenne pepper to the seasoning, just for a bit of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff and Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States