Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was, by far, the most interesting potato salad I've ever made. I made a double batch and took it to a party, and the bowl was scraped clean! The best part about it is that it can be served warm, and my family prefers it that way. The red potatoes got a little mushy during the cooking process, but that was great, because the final result tasted like loaded mashed potato salad. :-) I mixed in my potatoes while they were still rather warm, which immediately melted the cheese. I'm only giving the recipe 4 stars as is, because I read the reviews of others, and made a couple of changes for the better. No sugar at all, salt the water before cooking the potatoes, added freshly ground pepper before the toppings, and mixed in some extra bacon bits in with the "dressing". I could see this being a staple at our house; my boyfriend would probably add in some ranch dressing, just for a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this according to the recipe the first time I made this, and then made some changes the next time. Definitely leave out the sugar!! I added salt and pepper, a good amount of dill weed, some pickle juice (yeah sounds weird, but good!) and some paprika. I used a pound of real bacon, crumbled. I took it to a party today and it was devoured! Everyone loved it! I think I may try adding some finely chopped red onion next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Such a great change from the potato salad I usually make. The only thing I did differently was to cut the sugar in half and sprinkled it over the cooked potatoes with a little vinegar as well. They balance each other out and give it a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is very good. I used the same amounts of sour cream and mayo, as previous reviewers advised. I omitted the sugar altogether, added about 2 tbsp. of fresh chives, and I halved the amount of cheddar cheese called for. I used 2 tbsp. of artificial bacon bits (all I had on hand), and I added about a tsp. of Nature's Seasonings. I know that I did some major modifications, but this is a great base recipe that I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe and it was way to sweet. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Prock Sober

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very good. I added more like 1/2 cup of the crumbled bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary K. Lyskawa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made this last night without ever seeing the recipe. I thought I was being original and creative, guess not lol. The only difference was that I did not use sugar, and I don't believe I would in the future. Anyway, my advice would be to add all the ingredients to your own taste - more or less cheese, bacon, onions, etc. I didn't measure anything. An earlier post said they didn't like the mayo flavor, but I can tell you I originally used just sour cream and the potatoes just seemed to absorb it and make it very dry. I added mayo (not miracle whip!) for moisture and texture, not necessarily flavor - so I suggest you don't leave it out entirely. It also needs several good shakes of salt and pepper. I chose to bake the potatoes in the microwave because I think boiled potatoes lose a little flavor. Plus it's just faster and easier. My 12 yr old hates traditional potato salad, but absolutely loved this. UPDATE: Hubby insisted I make traditional potato salad for 4th of July, but I chose to make this also. By the end of the meal this potato salad was gone and the traditional was still half full. I was asked for the recipe by several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is my most requested recipes when I cook for family barbeques during the summer. What I do different is add about a half cup of bacon bits to the salad as well as sprinkling some on top. I don't add any sugar at all. I'll also throw in a bit of Tabasco with the sour cream/mayo mixture with some garlic powder, paprika and pepper. Sometimes, I add some crushed french fried onions on top, too. This keeps well for a couple days, if you make it for just your family. It's also great in Potato Salad Sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
great recipe. I wanted to try something new for the annual Father's Day BBQ. I pureed some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and added it for a little extra kick. Rave reviews from everyone. Otherwise, we followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I decided to try this instead of my loaded baked potato recipe. I didn't like the mayo flavor with this and the sugar made it just a little too sweet for our tastes. Although it was really good we still like our regular recipe just a little bit better. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States