Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
The first time I made this my family loved it. I kept in the sugar and it gives it an unique taste. The only thing is I left out the bacon bits and let those that wanted it put it on. But I will make this at every occasion at my families request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I'm giving this a 3 only because I made several changes that I think the recipe would have suffered without. As others have said, leave out the sugar entirely. Really, do you sugar your baked potato? I also used real bacon just because I'm a bacon purist (LOL). I used more sour cream and less mayo than called for, and seasoned quite a bit more than listed. Without these changes, I really don't think we would have liked it, but with them, we're having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I obmitted the sugar like others have suggested, added more cheese and some garlic. I left out the bacon one time I made it (nitrate allergies) and it was still wonderful. My guests kept raving and going back for more. Really nice change from regular mustard potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth H
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Family Hit. Great Recipe Better Then Just The Old Fashion Potato Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loved this! Added more cheese, and put the bacon on top, because I was afraid it would get soggy if I stirred it in. As per other reviews, I eliminated the sugar. I forgot to add salt, but I don't like salty foods, so it worked out. Great way to have a "baked potato" taste in the summer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I liked the idea of this salad but I had to make so many changes (some mine and some from others) I cant give it a 5. CUT OUT THE SUGAR ALTOGETHER. I made it with half the suggested amount and it tasted weird sweet so I put some vinegar in and that balanced it out a bit but I suggest not using any sugar. I added boiled eggs, lots of salt, pepper and some other seasonings. I also used a whole bag of bacon bits and it tasted very good. I would make this type of salad again but dont know that this recipe is the best one to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Good taste, definitely unusual, but seemed somewhat dry... even after adding extra mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a very good recipe--especially if you don't like a mustard based potato salad. As others recommended, I reduced the sugar to only about one tbls. I also added salt and pepper to taste, extra bacon mixed in, and used light mayo and fat free sour cream instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola May Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe! I brought it to a 4th of July party and everyone loved it. They were still talking about it the next day!! I did leave out the sugar as suggested by the others, every thing else I left the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good recipe! I added equal amount of mayo/sour cream and more bacon than called for. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States