Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I'm giving this a 3 only because I made several changes that I think the recipe would have suffered without. As others have said, leave out the sugar entirely. Really, do you sugar your baked potato? I also used real bacon just because I'm a bacon purist (LOL). I used more sour cream and less mayo than called for, and seasoned quite a bit more than listed. Without these changes, I really don't think we would have liked it, but with them, we're having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I obmitted the sugar like others have suggested, added more cheese and some garlic. I left out the bacon one time I made it (nitrate allergies) and it was still wonderful. My guests kept raving and going back for more. Really nice change from regular mustard potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth H
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Family Hit. Great Recipe Better Then Just The Old Fashion Potato Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loved this! Added more cheese, and put the bacon on top, because I was afraid it would get soggy if I stirred it in. As per other reviews, I eliminated the sugar. I forgot to add salt, but I don't like salty foods, so it worked out. Great way to have a "baked potato" taste in the summer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I liked the idea of this salad but I had to make so many changes (some mine and some from others) I cant give it a 5. CUT OUT THE SUGAR ALTOGETHER. I made it with half the suggested amount and it tasted weird sweet so I put some vinegar in and that balanced it out a bit but I suggest not using any sugar. I added boiled eggs, lots of salt, pepper and some other seasonings. I also used a whole bag of bacon bits and it tasted very good. I would make this type of salad again but dont know that this recipe is the best one to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Good taste, definitely unusual, but seemed somewhat dry... even after adding extra mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a very good recipe--especially if you don't like a mustard based potato salad. As others recommended, I reduced the sugar to only about one tbls. I also added salt and pepper to taste, extra bacon mixed in, and used light mayo and fat free sour cream instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola May Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe! I brought it to a 4th of July party and everyone loved it. They were still talking about it the next day!! I did leave out the sugar as suggested by the others, every thing else I left the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good recipe! I added equal amount of mayo/sour cream and more bacon than called for. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was, by far, the most interesting potato salad I've ever made. I made a double batch and took it to a party, and the bowl was scraped clean! The best part about it is that it can be served warm, and my family prefers it that way. The red potatoes got a little mushy during the cooking process, but that was great, because the final result tasted like loaded mashed potato salad. :-) I mixed in my potatoes while they were still rather warm, which immediately melted the cheese. I'm only giving the recipe 4 stars as is, because I read the reviews of others, and made a couple of changes for the better. No sugar at all, salt the water before cooking the potatoes, added freshly ground pepper before the toppings, and mixed in some extra bacon bits in with the "dressing". I could see this being a staple at our house; my boyfriend would probably add in some ranch dressing, just for a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States