Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very delicious and makes quit a bit with such a small amount of ingredients. I would recommend trying some grated green or white onions. Plan to next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used chunks of real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I thought this recipe was okay. I think, I may be more of a purist when it comes to hash brown potatoes potatoes. This had a lot of flour and cheese for my taste. For the potatoes I used one bag of Simply shredded potatoes. I added the optional real bacon bits. To reduce the calories I baked them instead of pan frying. I sprayed a non stick muffin tin with cooking spray, filled all 12 cups, then sprayed the tops of the hashbrowns and baked them. That avoided using the 4 tablespoons of corn oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. Calculating the calories, as made, they equalled 136 calories a hashbrown muffin which is fantastic. I accidentally forgot the baking powder, but really wish I wouldnt have. It is necessary because they will be very heavy without it due to the amount of flour in this recipe. I baked them at 380 degrees for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I had just received two bags of potatoes and needed to use them up when I found this recipe. I omitted the bacon bits and onion salt because I didn't have them, and I added some green onions instead. I served them for breakfast and my younger sister, who is VERY picky with her food, requested for more. These were delicious and super easy to put together! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My daughter makes potato pancakes every Sunday for me, and I had her try them this way last time. She followed the recipe almost exactly, using a splash of milk rather than a half cup, real bacon, and mxing the butter into the cakes instead of with the oil. They were amazing! Crispy, cheesy, full of flavor! Wonderful recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe as written and they came out great! I followed the advice of some of the other people and soaked my shredded potato in cold water and then rinsed again before mixing with the eggs, cheese and milk. Since my family likes a bit of heat, I did add some cayenne pepper and that was it! I paired them with some sour cream mixed with a bit of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I will definitely be making these again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe done exactly as posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent potato pancakes! Made 1/2 batch because there are only 2 of us. I did rinse the potatoes to remove some of the starch & drained them well before combining with the other ingredients. I also combined all of the dry ingredients before folding into the wet. Used canola oil because that's what I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good. Have eaten potato pancakes my whole life but never thought of adding cheese. I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Having made traditional German pancakes my entire adult cooking life, I thought I'd give these a try. I eliminated the bacon bits because this was going to be part of my twice weekly vegetarian meal. Found these to be very hearty and extremely tasty. I will remember to add BUTTER to my traditional potato pancake shortening, certainly adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States