Cheesy Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is far from Kugel. This is more of a potato pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I plan to make this again and again and again. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for the exact time and temp suggested. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Very Good, I add Sausage & Bacon. if you add the meat don't add oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by Desert Moon
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We prepared it for dinner tonight and it was loved by all! I baked it in 2 casserole dishes rather than a loaf pan this time but I will do the loaf pan next time for more moist finish. The onion & cheese added a lot to the flavor. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this recipe was awful, i think that the potatoes should have been cooked, cooled and then shredded. my potatoes were still hard. I also think there were too many eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a really delicious dish, and it's pretty easy to make. I use my food processor for the potatoes, onions, and cheese, so that cuts down the prep time significantly. I cut the oil in half because it's a bit greasy as is, and I cut the onion in half because my husband doesn't like a lot of onions. It still has the onion flavor, but just not as strong. This definitely makes too much to fit into a 9 x 5 loaf pan, so I use a loaf pan and a round casserole when I make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe was very easy and good...but I sauteed the onions first..as my husband doesn't like them either. To me the potatoes really need the onions...but when cooked first...the flavor is very different. I use this method for potato pancakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was great. The food processor speeds things up, but peeling takes a long time too. I might try leaving the peal on next time. I used low fat cheddar, less oil (2 Tbsp), and only two eggs (because I didn't have any more) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe, used frozen shredded hash browns, and used salt free Spike rather than salt, but otherwise kept to the recipe. Good taste, but next time I think I'll do more to spice it up a bit. Looking forward to some leftovers tomorrow for breakfast...! Thanks for a good potato side-dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Delicious! I definitely will make this again. I made it for my boyfriend and friends, who have had very little exposure to traditional Jewish dishes. They loved it! Like other reviewers, I recommend the use of a food processor to shred all the ingredients. Also, I'd use a folded piece of cheesecloth or a very clean baker's towel to squeeze the water out of the potatoes, its easier than using a colander. The flavor and consistency of the kugel was perfect, especially with a dollop of sour cream. Many Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MllePandora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States