Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this for Easter 2015. My kids and husband absolutely loved it! Favorite part of their Easter meal. Made some variations with some of the ingredients. I didn't have two cans of mushroom soup so I used 1 can of mushroom soup and 1 can cream of celery. Also used 1 lb frozen Ore Ida hashbrowns with onions and peppers. Instead of rice cereal for the topping, I used 2 sleeves of Ritz Crackers (crushed) with about 1 1/2 sticks of butter melted. Did not add the onion because it was in the hashbrowns already. Followed the rest of the recipe as directed. I made the day before and refrigerated overnight. It turned out so good. Will definitely make this again! Thank for having this recipe available for my Easter Dinner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Followed this except used corn flke topping. It was just ok, will not make it again. I was not impressed. Pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Line

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We're a family of 7 vegetarians and we really love this recipe. The kids thought the sour cream a bit tart so I usually scale back on that just a little bit and I'm also not a fan of crunchy onions in it so I use 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of onion for that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and everyone raved over it. I did use a 2lb bag of hash browns instead of 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I gave it a three simply because I think the proportions were way off. For this recipe, I did things a little different. I used 2 pounds of cubed hash browns, I sauteed the onion till it was translucent. I only used one can of cream of chicken (I took the pieces of chicken out of it), I used half a cup of sour cream, and 3/4 cup of heavy cream. I wanted it to be more white than yellow. I mixed a cup and a half of the cheese into the wet ingredients, and I also mixed the frozen hash browns into it to. And for the layer on top, I put a small layer of shredded hash browns and a cup of cheese mixed together. I sprinkled this on top, and then patted it all down. I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours, then I baked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I took it out, sprinkled some crushed potato chips on top, then baked it for another 15 minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used a two pound bag of hashbrowns, one pound seems like an error. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
With a couple of modifications, this is easily one of the most requested dishes for my family, must-have for holidays. My modifications: Increase potatoes to 30oz bag and use hash brown type (grated). Use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom. Mix all together (except topping) instead of covering potatoes. Use rice krispies instead of corn flakes. Increase butter for topping to 3/4 cup. I also prefer to cook at 375 so the outside gets browned (my favorite part). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have been making this for years, and I think it is delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
A lot like a recipe I have called Death by Potatoes. With these ingredients it's impossible to not like this recipe. Turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States