Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We're a family of 7 vegetarians and we really love this recipe. The kids thought the sour cream a bit tart so I usually scale back on that just a little bit and I'm also not a fan of crunchy onions in it so I use 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of onion for that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and everyone raved over it. I did use a 2lb bag of hash browns instead of 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I gave it a three simply because I think the proportions were way off. For this recipe, I did things a little different. I used 2 pounds of cubed hash browns, I sauteed the onion till it was translucent. I only used one can of cream of chicken (I took the pieces of chicken out of it), I used half a cup of sour cream, and 3/4 cup of heavy cream. I wanted it to be more white than yellow. I mixed a cup and a half of the cheese into the wet ingredients, and I also mixed the frozen hash browns into it to. And for the layer on top, I put a small layer of shredded hash browns and a cup of cheese mixed together. I sprinkled this on top, and then patted it all down. I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours, then I baked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I took it out, sprinkled some crushed potato chips on top, then baked it for another 15 minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used a two pound bag of hashbrowns, one pound seems like an error. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
With a couple of modifications, this is easily one of the most requested dishes for my family, must-have for holidays. My modifications: Increase potatoes to 30oz bag and use hash brown type (grated). Use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom. Mix all together (except topping) instead of covering potatoes. Use rice krispies instead of corn flakes. Increase butter for topping to 3/4 cup. I also prefer to cook at 375 so the outside gets browned (my favorite part). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have been making this for years, and I think it is delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
A lot like a recipe I have called Death by Potatoes. With these ingredients it's impossible to not like this recipe. Turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I didn't like it and neither did my sister. We are picky though. All I could taste was the soup. I ended up adding more potatoes and cheese and rebaking it. I might try it again but omit one or both of the cans of soup...maybe throw some mayo in instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great potato casserole recipe. I usually modify it by spicing it up with curry powder, cayenne pepper, and garlic. I also use club or ritz crackers as a topping rather than rice krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Honestly, I need to read all the reviews before I decide to make something, as everyone seems to change the recipe and rate it AFTER the changes! Frustrating. Here's why I rated it as such... Not blending the hashbrowns and mix was the first mistake. The sour cream mixture overpowered the entire dish! Didn't seem to have enough cheese flavor either. I definitely will be trying a different cheesy potato recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States