Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is similar to a recipe I already make. I use a whole package of hashbrowns (30 oz.) I use cream of chicken (not cream of mushroom). I usually use corn flakes on top, but made it last night and realized I didn't have any. I used crushed Saltine crackers moistened with butter instead. This was great! I will always use the Saltines from now on. Oh, and I definitely don't use a whole chopped onion. I grate about 1 or 2 tablespoons of onion because I don't like crunchy raw onion chunks in this kind of dish. Another addition I sometimes make is adding a can or two of chopped green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
It is a good recipe but I made a few changes. Used frozed potatoes o'brien instead of having to chop the onion. Saves a step. Used 1 can of cream of chicken soup,a taste preference and i thought 2 would be way to much. I also topped it with corn flakes mixed in melted butter since that is how i have seen it done before. Comes out great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNA'S MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairlawn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I have made this several times, and it is always a hit. My family just requested it for Christmas dinner yet again. I do make a few changes, though: I use 2 pounds of hash browns instead of 1 (too liquidy with only 1), I cut out the onion, and I use corn flakes for the topping. I have tried both letting it sit overnight and just assembling and baking right away, and I actually think it tastes better if I bake it right after assembling if I stir it all together first. I should also note that with the extra potatoes, it does take longer to cook. I increase the temperature to 400 degrees and let it cook for an hour. But really, it is hard to mess this one up. It comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This has a rich delicious flavor, and was a great dish to accompany Easter ham. The only thing I would change is the amount of potatoes: definitely requires 2 pounds instead of one to avoid being soupy. The crunchy topping sets it off very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made a couple of alterations to this recipe and it was a hugh hit with my family. I used 1 can of Crm of Chicken soup and 4 oz of cream cheese instead of the mushroom soup and sour cream. In place of salt is used garlic salt to taste and finally I used corn flakes instead of rice krispies. There was non left in my pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Easy and tasty recipe. I used frozen Potatoes O'Brien (onion & peppers included)and used one Cream of Chicken and one Cream of Mushroom soup and eliminated additional onion. I used crushed Ritz crackers and 1/2 cup of the shredded cheese for a topping. I served this with BBQ chicken and ribs and had requests for the recipe. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYCRUST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made this with cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom. It makes it a million times better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah Falls, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hudson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was excellent… for the first few bites, and then it tasted too rich, but in a different way – if that makes any sense. We always rate our meals on a scale of 10, and it started out being an 8, and ended up being a 5/6. I think it might have been a little too much cream of mushroom, and not enough potato. It’s a matter of personal taste though; I’d recommend this for everyone to try because it’s a unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I really liked this recipe but I didn't have any potatoes. So, I thawed a roast and cooked it in the crockpot. My son has a dairy allergy so I can't use cheese. I substistuted tortillas instead. No soup on hand, so I grabbed lettuce, tomatoes, onion. The tacos were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I make this in the crockpot, using the southern cubed hashbrowns with the chopped peppers and onion. (I still add half a chopped onion to the mixure.) I cook it on low for 8 hours on LOW. I only use one can of mushroom soup and I add a cup of milk. I also add paprika and Tabasco. This is also good with chopped ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States