Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good. A friend tried this out on me and I begged for the recipe. We agreed that it was a bit rich, and we prefer spicy. So we added 1 cup pepperjack cheese and the hashbrowns we used had onions and peppers already in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Emler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I agree a few other reviewers. I also make a few changes. I use cream of chicken soup and corn flakes. I also just mix everything together in the pan. It saves a bowl. Always a big hit a family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is similar to a recipe I already make. I use a whole package of hashbrowns (30 oz.) I use cream of chicken (not cream of mushroom). I usually use corn flakes on top, but made it last night and realized I didn't have any. I used crushed Saltine crackers moistened with butter instead. This was great! I will always use the Saltines from now on. Oh, and I definitely don't use a whole chopped onion. I grate about 1 or 2 tablespoons of onion because I don't like crunchy raw onion chunks in this kind of dish. Another addition I sometimes make is adding a can or two of chopped green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Very creamy not to our taste...to much cream of mushroom soup and sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This Recipe is great! In my house we used potatos obrien and added brocolli, turkey ham, and used both mozerella and Cheddar cheese in it. Its very good and most everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These are the best! They are a staple for cookouts and Thanksgiving. We eat them all year long. I also use corn flakes on top. They're even wonderful leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
My husband loves this recipe! He is not a sour cream fan at all, but loved the taste of it in this. I left out the onion and the salt and pepper. Cream of chicken soup has enough sodium on it's own. Nor did I put on the cruncy topping. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I have been making a similar recipe now for years. Try substituting french onion dip (8 oz Helluva is my favorite) for the sour cream. It is MUCH tastier and gives this dish just the "zing" that it needs... Kids and adults alike love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was a BIG hit with my family! I took the advice of others and used 2# of hashbrowns and used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. Will make this again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cameron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made this with cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom. It makes it a million times better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah Falls, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hudson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States