Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I didn't like it and neither did my sister. We are picky though. All I could taste was the soup. I ended up adding more potatoes and cheese and rebaking it. I might try it again but omit one or both of the cans of soup...maybe throw some mayo in instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great potato casserole recipe. I usually modify it by spicing it up with curry powder, cayenne pepper, and garlic. I also use club or ritz crackers as a topping rather than rice krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Honestly, I need to read all the reviews before I decide to make something, as everyone seems to change the recipe and rate it AFTER the changes! Frustrating. Here's why I rated it as such... Not blending the hashbrowns and mix was the first mistake. The sour cream mixture overpowered the entire dish! Didn't seem to have enough cheese flavor either. I definitely will be trying a different cheesy potato recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Very Good! I did take the advice of others and added about a half pound more of hash browns. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this for Easter. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great Recipe with a few mod's, used 2lbs of square southern style frozen hashbrowns. used both cans of soup, sauted the onion litely just so it woud not be crunchy in the dish. used 3 cups chedder. Also make sure you mix the potatos with the cheese mixture instead of just pouring it on top. I also Used Ritz crackers for topping, no butter. I also let the dish sit over night in the fridge and cooked the next day for dinner. Worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used 1 can of Ceam of Mushroom and 1 can of Cream of Chicken as other had recommended. I thawed the hash browns then mixed everything together instead of layering. This also took up less space instaed of letting it rest in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
my mom started making this a couple of months ago and has tweaked it little each time. As everyone else has said less soup and/or more potatoes are recommended. The biggest change came about as an accident. She ran out of cornflakes for the topping and used frosted flakes instead. This change does greatly alter the taste of the dish as a whole but its the only way i eat it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This recipe is so delicous and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it but I have to double the potatoes - I can't imagine how soupy it would be without. (hence the 3 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made this exactly as written and 2 cans of soup was WAY too much for only 1 lb of hash browns. It came out much too soupy and rich. You could barely even tell there were potatoes in it (I used shredded hash brown potatoes.) I also didn't care for the cereal topping at all. I made it a second time and made these modifications: 1 whole bag frozen hash browns (I believe it was a 28 or 30 oz bag, so it is more like almost 2 lbs.) and only 1 can of soup. I also used an entire "sleeve" of saltine crackers crushed instead of the cereal the recipe calls for. I liked the cracker topping better, but I think I will skip the topping entirely next time. The potatoes are better as left overs without the crunchy topping (which gets soggy when you reheat it.) With these modifications, this is my go-to cheesy potato recipe. But I couldn't justify giving the recipe 5 stars as written since the proportions were so WAY off in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States