Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I love this recipe!!! I made it once to try at home before taking it a potluck dinner and loved it! I used the 1/2 sour cream, 1/2 mayo suggestion and mixed 1/2 the bacon bits in with the other ingredients, topped it with the rest and a crushed cornflakes/melted butter combo. The night I made it for the potluck, my Velveeta clumped and scorched in the microwave, so I had to take some of it out. I threw in some shredded cheddar to make up for it, and it tasted better than before! It got LOTS of compliments and I will definitely make again, and probably continue to add about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar to the mix! Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Awesome & simple!! I used the sour cream & mayo combination. The store was out of ham so I chopped up a smoked pork butt. I also used the Ore Ida O'Brien hash brown frozen potatoes and put the bacon bits on top. I raised the temperature to 375 because the hash browns were frozen. Took this to a potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I loved this, the mayo was an excellent touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This is my new favorite recipe! I admit, I was a little afraid of using the Velveeta but this is great. I don't even like bacon but it is a must for this recipe. Very easy to make yet it is a bit sticky while mixing together. It is good re-heated too, we actually finished the leftovers. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Excellent, easy to make and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Go make these now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Made it for a tailgate party... what a hit!!! Easy and easy to make "mass quantities" of it for those big gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Yummy...I loved this recipes. I only had a 1 pound, 4 oz baf of Southwest Hashbrowns by Simply Potatoes, so I scaled down the ingredients to match. I did use some sour cream along with the mayo and by far, this is the best hasbrown casserole I have ever eaten. This will replace the old one. Thanx for a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was good. I used Velveeta cheese, 1 cup mayo, 1 cup sour cream, southern style potatoes, and a 2 oz of real bacon bits mixed in and 1 oz of bacon sprinked on top. Instead of baking in the open, I put it in the crock pot on low for several hours. (I had to bring to a dinner right after work; no oven at my work place.) I couldn't get the cheese to melt in the microwave smoothly without burning the sides-so had some clumps. But that was ok, it all melted in the crock pot. People at the dinner seemed to enjoy it. I thought it was little bit too cheesy but still very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Was cooking for a brunch at my church for 300 people. Needed quick and tasty. This recipe surpassed my expectations. Two Thumbs Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States