Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I think it a crowd pleaser if you like bland food-very boring in taste. I won't make it again but I would offer the suggestion of using onion that is sauteed first, using sharp cheddar or pepperjack cheese and adding perhaps some diced green chile's to give it a little extra somethin-somethin. But if you like your flavors plain-this is for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Placentia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
An absolute crowd pleaser! I get more compliments from this recipe! Thanks for posting it! Also to spice it up sometimes I add the southwest style hashbrowns!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was SO GREASY. And to me, the flavor was just lacking. Will definitely NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Awesome. Tasted great. I've had many variations of this kind of recipe, but this was quick, easy, and requested again. I did follow some recommendation given by others... I did add about 1/4 cup of sour cream to the mixture, and I also added some of the bacon bits to the center. It turned out really well, and couldn't have been easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Variation that received rave reviews: Sautee 1 chopped onion in 3/4 stick butter in saucepan. On low heat add 8oz cream cheese, 1.5 cup milk, 10oz ex shp white ched cheese, 1/2 cup parm, 1/2 tsp each of crushed red pepper, pepper, salt, garlic powd. 1 TBS parsley, 1/4 tsp thyme. Slowly melt and stir into one 20oz bag seasoned hash browns in 6x9 casserole dish. Bake @ 375 for 35-40 min. Remove and top with 1/2 sleeve crushed saltines mixed w/ 3 TBS melted butter. Place back in oven and cook until topping is golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My family loved this. I added a little garlic salt and parsley. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Kinda bland as written - in my opinion. I made again last night with some modifications. I had a 16 oz jar of 4 Cheese Salsa Con Queso that I have been wanting to do something with for a while now, so I used that in place of the processed cheese & added enough to taste of salt and pepper. I also crumbed up fresh fried bacon instead of using bacon bits - and it turned out so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
this was so good! i took it to a bbq and it was all gone very quickly! i took other's advice and took out some of the mayo (actually used miracle whip) and added sour cream. i used the diced potatoes and real bacon. i sauteed the onion in the bacon pan with a few cloves of garlic as well. i also added in some diced roasted red pepper. mmm! so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
yum! i had this recipe before but lost it...so glad i found it!! i love to make this for a brunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
best comfort food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States