Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Delicious! This casserole is the best potato casserole I've found and I will definately make it again. Followed the directions just as stated and it turned out wonderful! Used southern style hashbrowns & Velveeta cheese. Tastes very similar to a loaded baked potato. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I did alter this recipe a bit; I used 1/2lb. REAL fried bacon and added a small can of french fried onions to the top and baked as directed. I received ever so many compliments and requests for the recipe!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Very unhealthy, but extremely tasty! I added chopped chives instead of onion. I also added onion powder and pepper. Everyone enjoyed the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This recipe was not only yummy, but very easy to make. I made this for a father's day cookout and it was a hit. I would recommend a few changes: instead of the bottled bacon bits, cook up about 12 pieces of bacon and cut them up in small pieces. Also, I used 1 cup each of mayonnaise / sour cream and 3/4 brick of Velveeta rather than 1lb. One other suggestions, use the southern style hash browns rather than the shredded. It makes mixing a lot easier. Try this recipe with these few changes and you won't be sorry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Was very good and an easy recipe but we were not happy with the bacon bits.We will definitely try this again but we are thinking maybe french fried onions or perhaps crunched up potatoe chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I didnt have all the ingrediant so i improvised. Next time i think i will make sure that i have everything, i din't have velvetta so i used cheese whiz and that is all a tasted. Otherwise it was good will try this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
A member of my family does not care for sour cream so I tried this one for a family dinner. It was a hit and the mayo gave it an added zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Puuuuuure comfort food! This was amazingly good. Don't skimp on the onion if you make this, because it adds a lot to it. I used half mayo, half sour cream, and this dish got raves at a family gathering. I've experimented several times with this, sometimes using chopped ham instead of bacon or baking cocktail weiners into it. Yummy any way you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This dish is awesome!!! I don't consider myself that much of a chef, but I recently threw my husband a surprise party for his 30th birthday and wanted to make a common dish I thought everyone would eat, so I decided on this one. I am very glad I did. I used Velveeta cheese (A MUST), I used all sour cream, no mayo. Put half the Hormel real bacon bits in mixture and the rest on top. I also used the O'Brien hashbrowns with peppers and onions already in them and added fully cooked cubed ham. Everyone and I mean everyone at the party was complimenting me on the dish and could not get enough. My mother in law even asked me to make it whenever we go to her house for the holidays. She makes great cheesy potatoes, but not like this one. I came up with a new name for the way I made it. I call it Ham and Cheese Potato Caserole. Try it...You won't be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
We loved this recipe. I have made it two times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. Just out of curiosity, I made it with one cup mayo and one cup sour cream to see if it would be good also. It was just as good. I served it with a pork tenderloin but I also think it would be good in the summertime with grilled hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States