Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Turned out really good. Rich and thick. Made as is except that I added crumbled bacon and cooked the veggies in a bit of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy5Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I used frozen southern style hash browns and frozen corn. I didn't have any Mexican velveeta, so used regular. I substituted 1/2 cup of flour for the gravy mix. All around easy and excellent chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Mary Elizabeth you couldnt be even more correct. I followed your revised version and it has been the BEST recipe that ALL my family, close friends, pot luck group, cork and fork group LOVE THIS RECIPE. People should follow your version and scrap the one posted. Id give MARY"S version a 10! the one posted...a 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melodymaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
A good basic recipe, but a bit bland (I like spicier foods) so: I start by browning (a bit crispy) 1 lbs. of the hottest sausage I can find, using an extra half cup of green onions, and substituting a can of spicy rotell for the green chiles. I also use "peppered" country gravy mix. Otherwise I follow the recipe as written. Be careful when you season this one- it's a medium burn without any help. Browning the sausage also extends the cook time but for me at least, it is well worth it especially on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is very flavorful and cheesy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homcarern
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Amazing and delicious. I did not use the chills and substituted carrots sliced, I used two cans of corn for a thicker chowder and will add shredded cheddar on top when served. So good on this cold November 1, 2014. The rest of the recipe I did not change. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very yummy and just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Didn't have celery or green chilies on hand. Added ham to it. This was a great versatile recipe you can add your own touches to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made this chowder today . As some of the other viewers did, I added chicken and bacon. Best chowder I have ever made. So glad I doubled the recipe. Sure it will be even better tomorrow as the flavors marry together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States