Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
It was really good, not thick but still really good. I added a chicken breast to it and shredded that, also some diced green peppers since I didnt have any green chiles on hand, and used turkey gravy which didnt make a difference we thought. Hubby loved it, thats what counts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I've made this several times now and it's become a family favorite. Because I'm vegetarian I use veggie broth instead of chicken. I also use frozen corn and home made gravy. This soup has plenty of flavor and always turns out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Perfect. Easy. Fast. Good. Used no cheese - tasted better. I just didn't like it with the cheese. It's now a regular item in our weekly dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I'm a vegetarian so I substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth (tasted the same) and I also added a canned of creamed corn to thicken it a bit. Omitted the chiles just for personal preference.. It was perfect. Tasted great with oyster crackers and and it suited my dietary needs without making the rest of my family suffer with a meal that didn't feel complete without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Hammond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
WOOOOW ABSOLUTELY AMAAAZIIIING!!!! I love to tinker with everything I come across, I guess you can call me a "perfectionist". I play with things until they are perfect. I did do a few changes to this, of course. First, I fried 4 pieces of bacon and saved it to crumble over the chowder at serving time. Second, I fried the onion and celery in the bacon grease instead of the margarine. Third, I used HOMEMADE CHICKEN BROTH which I used 4 cups worth because this chowder goes fast in my house of five. fourth, I doubled the country gravy to 2 packages since I doubled the broth. fifth, I omitted the green chiles, and last but not least I added 1 cup of half and half to give it the last touch of perfection...... It is just worth the extra steps....try it, you will be blown away!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORIETTA M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good recipe but I made a few changes for the better- instead of the diced green chillies, I added a tablespoon of taco sauce. It sounds odd, but it just adds depth to the flavor of soup and is very palatable. Also, instead of the processed cheese, I stuck to the trusty shredded cheese (at least 1 cup); it tends to work best with the yellow cheeses (I prefer cheddar). Be sure to let the soup cook slightly before adding the cheese else the heat will scorch the cheese. It won't create a difference in flavor but it will make the texture a bit grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My family and I love this soup! I only use 1 tablespoon of butter instead of 2 tablespoons of margarine. I also roast my own Anaheim Chili peppers instead of canned peppers. I add the cheese and peppers to each individual bowl instead of the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was good. I didn't need to add anything else. I used the recipe, scaled up about 150%, and it was great. Served with fresh baked bread and a couple other types of soup, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I just finished making this and my first time making chowder anything, turned out great I did have to make my own breakfast gravy as they dont carry it where I live. I looked up one here and used that. I will make this again as it NEEDS ham or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3TEQUILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This soup was delicious! I changed it a little by using almond milk instead of cow's milk, adding 1 cup chopped facon (fake bacon), substituted carrots for the chilis and also put in more cheese than called for. It was so good, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States