Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Loved it. We made it just the way the recipe suggests, and even used skim milk, which worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I really like this chowder. Great for chilly days. My family loves it too. I add cut up kielbasa or sausage or bacon... Very good, I think the gravy mix brand makes a difference McCormick brand is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I love it! Its the recipe I keep coming back to. My garden produced lots of corn this summer & I make this recipe once a month. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I hardly ever comment here - but OMG this was fantastic - actually waiting for my second helping to cool. I did change up a few things - wanted a chicken chowder - so I diced some boneless chicken thighs and started the recipe with that, cooked through in butter, not margarine. Also added a little thyme and crushed rosemary to the cooking chicken. Used yellow gold potatoes - skins on. Subbed 1/4 of the milk with buttermilk (had to use it up, so why not). Skipped the tex-mex ingredients - no chilis and regular Velveeta. Don't add salt until you taste - and I like salt. Excellent!! Not too cheesy though - add more I guess if you're looking for that cheesy overtone. I think it was perfect the way it is. I definitely will make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Simply delicious! Loved this recipe a lot! I made small modification as follows: sautéed garlic, carrot, and green pepper in addition to the original recipe. Used skim milk instead of regular milk. Doubled the amount of corn; one creamy corn, one regular canned corn. The key for this successful recipe in my opinion is use of processed cheese food (velveeta) and texture of potatoes (in addition to corn). I was so skeptic about the processed cheese food, but it gave really nice creaminess and some added flavor to the soup :). I wonder how it would turn out if I used regular cheese, instead of processed cheese, for example, cheddar. Maybe too greasy? Not sure.. But this is the recipe that changed my perception about the processed cheese food!! Also I don't usually use instant gravy sauce kind, but in this recipe, I would say it helped the taste better and saved the time to cook. If I didn't want to use the gravy mix, I could have made my own white sauce with salt & pepper, plus cumin and other herbs with extra 10-20 min or so. The gravy mix makes the soup base instantly thicker and tasted well, so it makes sense to use especially when you want to make dinner real quick. Definitely will make more, thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Absolutely Wonderful! Perfect flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
YUMMMM! I added pepper jack cheese as someone mentioned in the reviews instead of the processed cheese and I didn't have any gravy mix, so I added 2T of rice flour (suggested, too). I also added a few filets of leftover walleye and this chowder is amazing!! Thank you for the recipe!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
All I did to make this Gluten Free for me was substitute the Gravy mix with 2 T. rice flour. I made it the first time with Pepper Jack cheese instead of the 'cheese food' because that's what I had. Delicious. The last couple of times I've used grated cheddar and that is wonderful, too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Oh boy! What's not to love about this chowder? I took the advice of another reviewer who used frozen O'Brien potatoes. I also put it in the slow cooker. I had to give the recipe to every guest at the party and I immediately pinned it to my pinterest board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is really amazing, comfort food. I left out the celery and chiles (as I had neither) and almost doubled the potatoes and liquid. Simple and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States