Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was so yummy! I did make a few changes. Instead of 1 cup of mexican style cheese I put in 2 cups of mexican style cheese. I also added some turkey smoked sausage to this and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
AMAZING!!! I have made this recipe twice and it has received 5 stars each time! I personally do not care for green chilies so I cooked half the chowder with chilies and half without. My hubby loved both versions but preferred his with the chilies. I used Mexican shredded cheese instead of the processed cheese that was recommended. I even crumbled a few crackers over the top of my bowl for a little crunch. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I added a pound of Itialian Sausage because my husband won't eat anything that doesn't have meat in it, and it was yummy! Fry a few strips of bacon, then saute your veggies (including corn) in the greese. Drain and add to the pot. Didn't have mexican cheese, so I used a can of Fiesta Nacho Cheese soup. A speed chopper for the meat and veggies made this meal come together in a snap at it was amazingly good! I wonder if the gravy/cheese/broth soup base would work as a cheesy clam chowder . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious! We don't usually eat spicy food so I was hesitant to use the chilis, but they added a great flavor to this soup. Next time I will add another can of corn, there wasn't quite enough for my taste with just 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great soup. I doubled the recipe, and after the potatoes had cooked, I ladled 2 big scoops out of the pot and pureed it in a food processor. Put it back in and it turned out really rich and thick. Not sure if it needed it... but the soup was delicious. Also, I added some cooked shredded chicken to mine. Everyone loved it! Might add some red pepper flakes or hot sauce to give it a little kick next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orlo2210

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The recipe was EASY and I already had most of the ingredients on hand. I even added carrots with the onion and celery and leftover peas with the corn. It tasted great, the green chiles added a kick. Will probably make again, but maybe will add more cheese next to time to try to make it creamier??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious chowder that is easy to make. You can cut the prep time down by using frozen pre-chopped onions and celery. I added a bit of crumbled bacon right before serving for a tad more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
It was pretty good. The only thing I did differently is add minced carrots. I think next time I will try chicken or brown gravy instead of the country gravy and add chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
used a cream soup base insted of country gravy, turned out yummy. everyone in the house was asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I added some Italian cheese in it as well because I ran out of Mexican cheese. I made it last week on a chilly day, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States