Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is wonderful, I really wasn't expecting to love it so much. As suggested by others I used 50% half and half and 50% milk (skim). I pan fried about 6 slices of bacon and used the fat to cook the vegetables. I used 1/2 carrots and 1/2 celery. Instead of Mexican Velveeta (yuck) I used a Mexican blend cheese and added a few dashes of hot sauce. This is amazing paired with beer bread on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this for my family and they loved it! Was super easy to make and was great because it's everyday items in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I just made this for tmy family and everyone loved it. My husband had several bowls and I'm almost out! Only thing I did was add some salt and pepper as it was a little bland for our taste. Other than that this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent soup. I doubled the ingredients but it would have been plenty anyway. We left out the chilies and mexican velveeta using regular velveeta instead. We had bacon bits for on top, scallions, croutons. Served with garden salad and garlic bread!! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was a good starter for me. I diced and browned four pieces of bacon then sauteed onion. I also shredded a rotis. chicken and added for a heartier meal, added shredded cheese instead of the processed cheese and a can of creamed corn. I also put a little smoked paprika for a little smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
One of the best soups I've ever had! My family goes nuts when I make it and my neighbors raved about it as well. Wouldn't change a thing! Eat with beer bread on a cool fall day - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars because I had go make do with a different processed cheese because I am living overseas. i didn't want to knock the soup based on my changes. With what I had and following someone's suggestion of olive oil (which I think margarine would have been better) I would have given it 3 stars until I stick blended it and then it improved substantially. It was too thin for me before that, but I think that was partially my cheese choice. Great idea with the country gravy mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wonderfull!!! We didn't have the country gravy mix so I used cream of chicken soup. The substitution worked out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallen20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I loved this! It was just a bit spicy for me, but there isn't much that isn't. I used olive oil instead of butter and added bacon but otherwise followed the recipe perfectly. It had great flavor and was nice and thick and creamy! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
My family LOVES this!! Sometimes we use broccoli instead of corn, and add ham chunks. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States