Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made this chowder today . As some of the other viewers did, I added chicken and bacon. Best chowder I have ever made. So glad I doubled the recipe. Sure it will be even better tomorrow as the flavors marry together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The sausage gravy just makes the dish! We had lots of veggies, so at the "add potatos" stage, I also added diced carrots and some cauliflower. My extra touch was using my Cuisenart handheld and puréed 60% of it before adding the milk and corn. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Followed this recipe almost to a T: EXCEPT, (I cooked the yellow onion, celery, and potatoes and a boil for almost the first 10 minutes until potatoes got soft, then continuing on into a boil with the rest of the items - TIME CRUNCH) -Guesstimated on 19oz of chicken broth with 13oz and 1/2 of a 13 oz carton of reduced sodium -used 2% milk -used red potatoes -used 4 cheese mexican shredded cheese. There was a sort of dryness to the taste, and i felt like it needed a bit of sweetness. Reading from another review, I added about 1 big tablespoon of Texas Pete hot sauce. !*PERFECT*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This chowder is amazing! I've made it twice now and my whole family loves it. The second time I did add some bacon to it and a little extra cheese, but it's fine without it. Perfect for a rainy or cold day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vex
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made a few changes, I add ham and carrots and had a little much for potatoes so i added an cup of milk. This is by far one of the best soups i think i've had yet! I am cooking for one and will thoroughly enjoy all the leftovers i have :D This would also be good with sausage instead of ham if you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
So good! So rich and hearty! Perfect for a cold winter's day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I substituted a small amount of chopped Jalapeño Peppers for the green chilies and it was delicious! A good hearty soup to have on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I was thrilled to find a corn chowder recipe that was simple yet hearty. I used chicken stock instead of broth, 2 cans of corn, added a jar of Old English Cheese Spread instead of the Mexican Style cheese, used condensed milk and did add some garlic and pepper. Quite tasty, and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was delicious! I made this for my fiance, who informed me that he'd never had corn chowder before. I wanted a recipe that would satisfy both of us and this looked like a winner. I was not disappointed! I followed the recipe as written but made one small change - I made my own country gravy as I do not like the mix. Great recipe. Came together easily, excellent taste and consistency. Couldn't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Niles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Was pretty good. Make it many days in advance and let sit in the fridge. Gets much better. I used an emersion blender to mash up the potatoes more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States