Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent flavor! This is one that I will add the the recipe box to use again and again...especially with all the great variations that have been suggested. I made exactly according to plan and think it would be awesome with a chunky vegetable ragout served over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
When substituting chicken broth for the water, as I did, remember to reduce the salt that's called for in the recipe. I didn't account for the salt already in canned broth, therefore mine was a tad salty.Added 2 cloves minced garlic to boil in the water and subbed parmesan for cheddar, to go with Italian dish osso bucco. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Polenta can be a pain to make, but this recipe is easy, foolproof and delicious. I made it with 2% milk and substituted chicken broth for water and 1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan for the cheddar cheese. Looking forward to trying it with cheddar, because now we're going to have polenta more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So delicious! Never knew polenta could be so good. I used chicken broth and evaporated milk. Also used parmesan cheese. Served it with goat cheese, roasted veggies and balsamic glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have not made this recipe, but I've made polenta often and it seems like it would work. Substituting water or chicken broth is my preference because I grew up not having a polenta that was so rich. Polenta has lots of possibilities: add cheese, cooked sausage or bacon, caramelized onions, a can of corn, whatever you like. Some people pour it out and let it set in a thin layer, then make a polenta lasagna. It's a great cold weather dish and a staple in the northern regions of Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The whole family raved! my tweaks were: chicken broth instead of water. Used half milk and half heavy whipping cream, then omitted the butter( needed to use it up after the holidays) used a mix of cheddar and Parmesan. I salted to taste after rather than adding a proscribed amount. i might add chives to top next time just for color, but otherwise a total winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Enjoyed it. I think I need to add some garlic and use a different cheese to please the palettes in my family. I will use this as a base and change it up until I get it just right for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe but made some changes as was suggested by some other reviewers. I swapped water for chicken stock and cheddar cheese for parm. This was my first taste of polenta and my boyfriend and I did not like it at all. I tried to like; I really wanted to like it, but I don't think the texture of polenta agreed with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so creamy and tasty! My husband was a little reluctant to try it but he ate every bite and asked to have it again later in the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hessaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This polenta is wonderful! It's like cheese grits on steroids! I used locally milled corn meal and a little more cheese (and a little Nature's Seasoning and a dash or two of garlic powder). The kids love it! I'll be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States