Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Followed the recommendation of others and used chicken stock instead of water, reduced the salt to 1 tsp., and used half milk/half cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Good basic recipe. I've modified it by adding 2 cloves garlic as well as crushed red pepper flakes. I've also tried both parmesan and cheddar cheeses... parmesan wins, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This turned out fairly well, but based on all of the modifications that I made, I have to give this recipe only 4 stars. I followed other reviewers suggestions and sub'd chicken broth for the water. I also used a mixture of cheddar, pepper jack and Parmesan cheese. Next time I will either use the pepper jack or the Parmesan, but not both. I would also recommend that for at least the first few minutes, the mixture needs to be stirred constantly. Once I got everything mixed in I let it sit for at most two minutes ( the recipe says every 3-4 minutes) and when I went back to stir it, I had all liquid on top and a thick layer of polenta on the bottom. I got most of the lumps out, but this was definitely not one of my better attempts at making polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent flavor! This is one that I will add the the recipe box to use again and again...especially with all the great variations that have been suggested. I made exactly according to plan and think it would be awesome with a chunky vegetable ragout served over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
When substituting chicken broth for the water, as I did, remember to reduce the salt that's called for in the recipe. I didn't account for the salt already in canned broth, therefore mine was a tad salty.Added 2 cloves minced garlic to boil in the water and subbed parmesan for cheddar, to go with Italian dish osso bucco. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Polenta can be a pain to make, but this recipe is easy, foolproof and delicious. I made it with 2% milk and substituted chicken broth for water and 1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan for the cheddar cheese. Looking forward to trying it with cheddar, because now we're going to have polenta more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So delicious! Never knew polenta could be so good. I used chicken broth and evaporated milk. Also used parmesan cheese. Served it with goat cheese, roasted veggies and balsamic glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have not made this recipe, but I've made polenta often and it seems like it would work. Substituting water or chicken broth is my preference because I grew up not having a polenta that was so rich. Polenta has lots of possibilities: add cheese, cooked sausage or bacon, caramelized onions, a can of corn, whatever you like. Some people pour it out and let it set in a thin layer, then make a polenta lasagna. It's a great cold weather dish and a staple in the northern regions of Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The whole family raved! my tweaks were: chicken broth instead of water. Used half milk and half heavy whipping cream, then omitted the butter( needed to use it up after the holidays) used a mix of cheddar and Parmesan. I salted to taste after rather than adding a proscribed amount. i might add chives to top next time just for color, but otherwise a total winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Enjoyed it. I think I need to add some garlic and use a different cheese to please the palettes in my family. I will use this as a base and change it up until I get it just right for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States