Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Loved the tips from other users. Mixed polenta in cold milk before adding, and used chicken broth instead of water. I topped it with meatballs in marinara sauce. Great gluten free alternative to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Use Manchego and some fresh thyme to liven/fancy up the flavor! Also, definitely stir in slowly and wisk quickly, stir more often or it will brown on the bottom. Throw in some nice smoked ham and you've got a lovely Tapas dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So flavorful and creamy...this is my new favorite side dish! Just make sure to whisk in the polenta/corn meal slowly and stir regularly while it cooks. I like to use half regular (fine ground) corn meal and half coarse ground corn meal...gives a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa W-M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I must have done something wrong. I noticed another reviewer had the same problem. I could not get mine to set up. I had to serve it in ramekins because it was so watery. Not sure what I did wrong but with the cost of the cheese and the polenta itself this side dish was not worth the money even if I could have got it to set up. The flavor was very blah even switching chicken stock for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wow. This was my first time making polenta, and it was so easy and so delicious that I cannot wait to make it again. The only changes that I made were to use 1% milk instead of whole, because it's what we had, and to add way more cheese, because I'm from Wisconsin and there is no such thing as too much cheese. I used a mix of Asiago, sharp cheddar and mild cheddar, and it was perfect. 10 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I used this with a hard goat cheese. I was going to skip the butter, but the flavor was harsh and it seemed really thick. I added 2 tbs of butter and that solved those problems. This is definitely a keeper. One thing is you have to constantly stir it. Mine cooked up in less than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
chicken stock instead of water and parm/ asiago instead of cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Used 1% milk (that's all I ever have in the house) and used vegetable stock instead of water for a little extra flavor. Otherwise, made as written. Served it with a baked ratatouille. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really creamy and good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I really wanted to like this but it had an odd after taste. I will look for a different polenta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States