Cheesy Polenta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I will definitely make this again but I made several changes, which is why it's getting 4 stars: I substituted about 1 c. frozen [mixed] bell pepper for the green bell pepper, ~1/4 c. white onion for the green onion, and plain tomato sauce (about 22 oz. or so) for the marinara sauce [after each layer of tomato sauce, I sprinkled on some Italian seasoning]. I upped the garlic to at least a Tablespoon. Because I was serving this as a main dish, I sauteed eight 1/4" slices of eggplant in olive oil to create two additional layers. I mixed all 3 of the cheeses together (1/2 c. fontina and just over 1 c. mozzarella). The Parmesan naturally fell to the bottom of the bowl and mostly ended up on the top of the casserole anyway. The eggplant was the perfect addition to this dish and really soaked up the tomato sauce nicely. Next time, my top layers will go tomato sauce, polenta, and then the cheese - this way the polenta on the top will brown slightly and add a nice crunch. Although this was absolutely delicious, I would not make it for "fancy" company as it is a bit sloppy to serve. This might be because I used 1.5 times the sauce suggested or the fact that we were starving and didn't let it cool. If using an 8x8, I suggest cutting your polenta into 18 slices - 9 slices for each of 2 layers, and 8 slices of eggplant, 4 slices per layer. A hit with the adults and my 10 month old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a great dish! I added a couple of chopped portobello mushrooms after cooking the peppers and onions a bit. I also didn't have any nice cheese on hand, so I used grated cheddar and mozzarella for the cheese. Still, it was extremely tasty! Even the kids (6 and 8) asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I make my own polenta (it's easier and a LOT cheaper!) and my own basil marinara sauce. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I loved this dish My husband is a vegetarian and I made it for Thanksgiving (along with a pork loin for the meat eaters). I used frozen pepper and onion mix i also added extra garlic and doubled the whole recipe. In place of the fontina i used the italian mixed cheese and then I topped it with fresh sliced mozzerella. This was a huge hit It was all gone but there was pork left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Good. I used Puttenesca sauce instead of marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I'm so bummed! I did not pay attention to my jarred sauce and added 26 ounces instead of 14. It was way too soupy. Will have to try again. I swapped yellow onion instead of green onion and red pepper instead of green pepper. I know that I would prefer provolone over mozzarella. I used mozzarella because that is all I had. I think I would also do 1/2 fontina and 1/2 provolone. Super easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was fabulous! I only made two layers, used a bit more sauce and all mozzarella cheese versus some fontina. My husband loved it. I think you could subsitute salsa for marinara sauce and cheddar cheese for mozzarella and this would be a great Mexican sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Simple and delicious. Instead of sauteeing peppers and onions, I just stirred my favorite spices into the sauce and used homemade polenta. We all enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a family favorite. Even my teen-age boys love this dish. It's easy and delicious. In fact, I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genaeve
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
We loved this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted great. I added a half of a rotisserie chicken chopped up, used red instead of green peppers and did not have fontana cheese so I used a combination of mozzerella, chedder and jack. It is very good but very messy looking when you serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States