Cheesy Polenta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Good. I used Puttenesca sauce instead of marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was a delicious and different casserole. I will definitely double the recipe next time, it disappeared too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Eh. This is my first attempt at a recipe with polenta; it was just o.k, not as falvorful as I had hoped, probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This is a good recipe. Used provolone & mozzarella to make up the total cheese instructed for provolone. Served with Jambasta (from another website) & salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I will definitely make this again but I made several changes, which is why it's getting 4 stars: I substituted about 1 c. frozen [mixed] bell pepper for the green bell pepper, ~1/4 c. white onion for the green onion, and plain tomato sauce (about 22 oz. or so) for the marinara sauce [after each layer of tomato sauce, I sprinkled on some Italian seasoning]. I upped the garlic to at least a Tablespoon. Because I was serving this as a main dish, I sauteed eight 1/4" slices of eggplant in olive oil to create two additional layers. I mixed all 3 of the cheeses together (1/2 c. fontina and just over 1 c. mozzarella). The Parmesan naturally fell to the bottom of the bowl and mostly ended up on the top of the casserole anyway. The eggplant was the perfect addition to this dish and really soaked up the tomato sauce nicely. Next time, my top layers will go tomato sauce, polenta, and then the cheese - this way the polenta on the top will brown slightly and add a nice crunch. Although this was absolutely delicious, I would not make it for "fancy" company as it is a bit sloppy to serve. This might be because I used 1.5 times the sauce suggested or the fact that we were starving and didn't let it cool. If using an 8x8, I suggest cutting your polenta into 18 slices - 9 slices for each of 2 layers, and 8 slices of eggplant, 4 slices per layer. A hit with the adults and my 10 month old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Okay. This was pretty good. I really liked the taste of this dish, but the texture was not so great. It was kind of mushy. I did add zucchini, mushrooms and onion to it and that helped the texture greatly. I would do it again, but play with different options for the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SequoiaSkye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This was pretty tasty, but would benefit from a more substantial sauce. I loved the mix of different cheeses though - even my picky-eating husband liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I make my own polenta (it's easier and a LOT cheaper!) and my own basil marinara sauce. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a great dish! I added a couple of chopped portobello mushrooms after cooking the peppers and onions a bit. I also didn't have any nice cheese on hand, so I used grated cheddar and mozzarella for the cheese. Still, it was extremely tasty! Even the kids (6 and 8) asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States