Cheesy Onion Roll-Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I have a similar recipe that you add a slice of ham on top of the cheese mixture before rolling. It works great with this recipe too and adds a little to the color of the roll when they're sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I'm so glad I found this recipe! I had something similar to this at a party once and have been trying to find this recipe forever! This one is even better!!! I used regular, sun-dried tomato and spinach tortillas and it made it look very pretty on the plate. You really can't taste much of a difference between the different tortillas because the filling is so flavorful. They are even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I made this for a party and it went over well. Instead of jalapenos I added fried, crumbled bacon. That was good! Next time, though, I would reduce the sour cream to about 3/4 cup and increase the grated cheese to about 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I made this for a neighborhood party and everyone loved it! I didn't want it to be too spicy (lots of kids) or too dry unless dipped (too messy), so I substituted one can of stewed tomatoes with mild chilies (drained and very finely chopped)for the jalapeno. Since then several of the guests have asked for the recipe and made it themselves. All preferred it with the tomatoes, instead of with a picante sauce for dipping. We all also learned that it works much better to make it the night before. I tried cutting it after an hour, and then again the nex morning. It worked great and looked very nice the next day. Many friends have used it when they need something to bring to a gathering, but want to be able to make it in advance. I even cut it and put it out on a tray (tightly saran-wrapped) about six or seven hours before the party, and it didn't dry out and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I'm am not a sour cream / cream cheese person (except in desserts of course) so I thought this was just so-so. I did add some chopped red bell pepper, garlic and onion powder, paprika, cayenne, oregano and some poppy seeds to spruce it up a bit. It actually tasted good with some seasoning tossed in it. I did eat a few... but just get turned off by the thought of having to swallow a mouth full of cream cheese. I guess I was very generous with the amount of mixture I spread on my tortillas. My guest did eat some and enjoyed them. Not bad, but not something I'd make again any time soon. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is really good. I didn't have any jalapeno, so I added a small can of Ortega diced chiles. This is so much better the next day, after the flavors have blended. Next time I make this I won't even bother to serve it until the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I had to give this three stars - but I am pretty sure that is because I messed up. So don't do what I did. I put way too much of the mixture on each tortilla. It was too much. I should have realized it when I used less tortillas than the recipe called for. I am going to try it again and space out the filling enough. I am sure that it is much better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I have made these many times (many times at the request of friends who miss them - grin) - I have also done versions with adding packaged dry taco seasoning to the filling - as well as adding finely chopped green and red peppers - adds good color - also makes a nice presentation to use different color tortillas - or to put those decorative toothpicks in each one (also helps to hold them together) - the taco seasoning adds a nice kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I made half with the jalapenos and the other half with bacon and a slice of ham. Both were wonderful. Don't forget the salsa. It really compliments the roll-ups. These are goooooddddd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I add a little salsa to the cream cheese mixture to give it some color. I've made this recipe for 3 different events and everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States