Cheesy Onion Roll-Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I wish I would have made these when I first printed the recipe out...these are delicious. Everyone at my worked loved them! The only change I made was instead of using jalapeno peppers, I used green chiles. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
These are the first to go at a party! Since my husband likes them hot I leave the seeds in the peppers and add extra cheese (old).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Great recipe! I used this recipe also for my New Years' Eve party. Everyone kept coming back for more and they disappeared quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I thought this recipe was rather bland and made the following changes to "spruce" it up. I substituted the cheddar with "Mexican" seasoned shredded cheese, added a pinch of garlic powder, and I used the burrito sized tortillas instead of the 6 inch ones. In the end, I still wasn't crazy about the roll-ups, but everyone at the party I took them to loved them. Two ladies claimed they couldn't stop eating them and asked for the recipe. I would give this dish 3 stars, but everyone else felt it deserved 5. My compromise is the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I thought these were fantastic. I added a dash of hot sauce and ground roasted red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Too much sour cream for me and not enough cheddar or spice. I will try again with 1/2 cup of sour cream, twice the amount of cheddar, using sharp cheddar, use green chili peppers instead of jalapeno and sprinkle with garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I made this for a neighborhood party and everyone loved it! I didn't want it to be too spicy (lots of kids) or too dry unless dipped (too messy), so I substituted one can of stewed tomatoes with mild chilies (drained and very finely chopped)for the jalapeno. Since then several of the guests have asked for the recipe and made it themselves. All preferred it with the tomatoes, instead of with a picante sauce for dipping. We all also learned that it works much better to make it the night before. I tried cutting it after an hour, and then again the nex morning. It worked great and looked very nice the next day. Many friends have used it when they need something to bring to a gathering, but want to be able to make it in advance. I even cut it and put it out on a tray (tightly saran-wrapped) about six or seven hours before the party, and it didn't dry out and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
These cheesy roll-ups were a delight at my Christmas buffet. Additions I found helpful: 1/4c-1/2c sweet roasted red peppers drained and chopped; salt and white pepper; 1tsp. minced garlic; sundried tomato mild jabonera tortillas (Trader Joes); sprinkling of ground red pepper on finished product for an extra kick (a basic requirement for my brother-in-law), and for a fun display. Options: Lemon juice works ok instead of lime if you have no limes; I used 1/2c. sour cream, and two packets of softened cream cheese instead of one of each; You can omit jalapeno peppers if you use above red pepper addition for you tender mouths. You also can make the cheese mixture 24 to 48 hours ahead, and spread the mixture onto the tortillas the night before serving, refrigerating worked very well in a ziploc with the rolls stacked upon each other to keep them tight. Salsa was the preferred choice of dips, but I think a ranch dip would work well too. I'm sure you will enjoy these, it's nice to have an appetizer roll without chopped ham and pickles for once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Made these for a party and was asked several times for the recipe. Very simple to make as well as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
oK, but a little bland for me. I prefer a spicier recipe. thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle Hastings Carraway

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States