Cheesy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Wouldn't change a thing! I was surprised by the fact that it could be used as a dip. Will definatley try with the left overs, if there are any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Dip? I just noticed that in the description as I went to the recipe to review it! I had no idea. For us this was an incredibly delicious baked-style mashed potato dish that paired well with our grilled steak and vegetables. Interestingly, I thought the dish I used to bake them in would be too big, yet when they came out of the oven they had puffed beautifully to the top of the dish! I was low on Cheddar so I made up the difference with pepper-jack cheese and it proved to be an excellent substitution that added an interesting flavor. I particularly liked the dill and was happy I still had some fresh in my garden. I only made a small portion of this recipe for just the two of us so I was able to trim the baking time in half. All puffed and golden and garnished with fresh chopped green onion, this was just as pretty as it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Guaranteed to make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this recipe last night. It was much too 'soupy'. I may make it again using less milk and less dill weed. We are not a fan of dill. I would cut back on the cheese in the main recipe too. I love mashed potatoes; but this wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Tonight was my second time trying this recipe, and it's still way too runny. I cut down the milk to 1/2 cup and the butter to 1/4 cup, but it still too runny. I think running the potatoes through the food processor makes them runny, so next time, I'll try mashing them by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were so good even before I put them in the oven, I couldn't stop eating them! When I took them out of the oven they were too thin, more like mashed potato soup. Next time I will just skip the oven step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Totally sinful but good!!! Those who have had trouble with it thickening up might not have used BAKING POTATOES. I would think that is the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I can't comment on the amounts of each ingredient for this recipe, because I just kind of eye-balled the milk and sour cream and butter and used what I had left of the cream cheese. I did not add any cheese into the potatoes, only on top. I didn't bake them longer than just melting the cheese on top. Tastey, but I still prefer simple milk and butter mashed potatoes (nothing to do with this recipe though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Mashed potatoes are comfort food at it's best, but add cheese and sour cream and you have something rich and delicious! Not something I'd make everyday mind you, but once in a while you have to splurge. The addition of the dill weed was interesting and proved to be a nice touch. Not sure I'd ever use this as a dip for potato chips as in the description, but delicious none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Totally Yummy! I was afraid that it was going to be too much dill weed, but it was totally yummy! Me and my husband devoured it! It goes great with Dad's cheesy bacon wrapped meat loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States