Cheesy Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Did this recipe almost exactly as written - my oven crisped the kale up nicely in 40 minutes that was the only difference. I won't have enough to save until tomorrow because I can't stop eating it - SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Wow! Tried with parmesan and the nutritional yeast. The yeast was so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These are delicious. I sometimes also add garlic powder, cumin and onion powder, if I'm in the mood for super-flavorful chips. Great for portable vegetables! I'm not a fan of raw veggies, so these are a great alternative. I pack them in bag lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum! I made four batches: 2 exactly as the recipe called for, one with just olive oil and sea salt, and one with sesame oil, sesame seed and garlic salt. My seven year old daughter ate the entire first batch and came back for more. My favorite of the 3 is this one with nutritional yeast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Absolutely incredibly awesome! Brewers Yeast is awesome on these! My baking times are 20 min - flip kale & rotate baking pans - 30 min - flip kale & rotate baking pans - then 20 min. I've made this recipe 4 times now and have the perfect baking times down :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I tried to make the recipe with some of the add-ins for the paremsan-like sprinkles from another reviewer. I thought this to be ok, but not great. I like the technique of cooking it slower, though it means you have to wait a lot longer for the chips to be ready. I also placed the chips on a cooling rack while cooking to produce a more even crisp and to negate the need for turning. Perhaps it is just my taste buds, I love, love the maple chips and will be applying this slower method to them, but I found the taste while not inedible, not very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I have flat-leafed kale and they were paper-thin so the texture was off-putting but the taste was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
AWESOME! I keep trying to like kale. I have quit trying "chips" because of lousy results, until now. Had to dig out the dehydrator but what a perfect match! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I'm sitting here eating the chips between keystrokes. I did make a substitution, though. Instead of plain kale, I soaked about about a cup of organic edamame beans (soy) for an hour, pureed them in the oil/yeast mixture, and then used the mix to coat the kale. This adds a little to the drying and crisping time (about 10 minutes). But I'm telling you, these are every bit as good as what people are paying $5.99/bag for at health food stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States