Cheesy Jalapeno Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was delightfully yummy and super easy to make, as well. I followed the recipe pretty much as is, but I did sub ff sour cream for part of the light mayo, per personal taste. I also realized I'd forgotten the croutons, so I topped w/bread crumbs and parm instead. I baked in a large Fiestaware bowl instead of an 8X8 for better presentation. This was very well received at a birthday dinner I made it for. I will make this regularly; thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Don't add croutons. Serve with crackers. Other than that, this recipe is outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is great stuff!!! I used 2 cans of Bumble Bee Fancy White Crabmeat instead of the lump crabmeat and did not use croutons. Everything else I was exactly as recipe stated. Goes great with Sociables (crackers). By the way, 6 oz. of cheese equals about 1-1/2 cups of shredded. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used this recipe, with an addition of capers for 1/2 the jalapeno, as stuffing for phyllo cups instead of as a dip. I also omitted the croutons and mixed the parmesan into the mixture. Every place I've taken this it has disappeared too quickly and gotten rave reviews. It's easy except for a little mess filling the phyllo cups, but oh so worth it. Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes then sprinkle with the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This dish was fabulous. I made it to bring to a party and it was a huge hit. The only ingredient I didn't have on hand were the croutons, but it didn't seem to matter. I served it with crackers. Thank you for a recipe I know I will look forward to sharing with friends and family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Made this for XMAS eve. Was very tasty. Pretty much followed recipe. Could not find sourdough croutons so I skipped them altogether. They werent even missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Too crabby; not creamy enough. Try adding some cream cheese maybe? Sorry....we just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
All I could find the first time was crab meat in a can, and it was way too fishy, got the crab from the freezer section in the little bags the second time, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A nice dish. Next time I will use less crab meat and more mayo so it's creamier. Canned crab meat works well as long as you buy the higher quality stuff. I used four 6-ounce cans of Bumblebee lump crab meat. I think next time I'll only use two of those & double the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I served this Christmas Eve and it was enjoyed by all. As many other reviewers suggested, I left out the croutons. I also used Pepper Jack cheese in place of the monterey jack cheese. Very spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States