Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is some awesome comfort food! Instead of the chopped onion I used onion powder, and I used a shredded chipotle cheddar cheese instead of just cheddar. This is scrumptous! It's great served along side a veggie omelet and bacon strips. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These were very good. I took the advice of others and added french onion sour cream to give it a bit more kick. I also cooked this into the crock pot because of convenience and it came out perfect! My husband loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I love this recipe and have been making it for several years. I use a container (not sure of the size/large) of french onion dip instead of the sour cream and cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken. I always double this recipe,its even better the next day for breakfast heated up in a skillet. I have even put dried onions on top at the last 10 minutes of baking for a little extra crunch. MY RECIPE: 1 bag frozen hash browns (thawed for at least a 1/2 hour room temp.) 1 cantainer french onion dip 1 can cr of mushroom soup 2 cups cheddar cheese (more if you like) 1/3 cup butter (more if you like) salt and pepper to taste. Mix all together in a large bowl. Place in a 9 x 12 dish. (I use glass dish) Bake at 350 for an hour. If you like, the last 10 min. sprinkle with dried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is comfort food all the way. I took it to a dinner party and everybody loved it! I coated some corn flakes in melted margarine and spread it over the dish as a topping--this added some appealing crunch to the dish. A definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
So easy and a perfect portion for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Yummm....this recipe is so delicious! It makes a great breakfast & also a great side item with dinner! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I'm not much of a cook. Do you think this recipe would be ok to make the night before and then bake the next day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
A little complicated to make, but it was delicious with fresh chopped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Renaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It's best to cook the hashbrowns first. I was trying to make this recipe (not this exact one, but one I found like this on the web) for about five tries before finally realizing that it would probably be better if I cooked the hash browns first. Other wise this is delicious recipe and me and my fiance always eat it up quick now that I know how to make it correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very Good! Made a perfect size for dinner for two. My mother and I had it for dinner with Veggies and steak and there were no leftover hashbrowns :) I did add more cheese to it, but it was otherwise perfect. Yumm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star942

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States