Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I love this recipe and have been making it for several years. I use a container (not sure of the size/large) of french onion dip instead of the sour cream and cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken. I always double this recipe,its even better the next day for breakfast heated up in a skillet. I have even put dried onions on top at the last 10 minutes of baking for a little extra crunch. MY RECIPE: 1 bag frozen hash browns (thawed for at least a 1/2 hour room temp.) 1 cantainer french onion dip 1 can cr of mushroom soup 2 cups cheddar cheese (more if you like) 1/3 cup butter (more if you like) salt and pepper to taste. Mix all together in a large bowl. Place in a 9 x 12 dish. (I use glass dish) Bake at 350 for an hour. If you like, the last 10 min. sprinkle with dried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is comfort food all the way. I took it to a dinner party and everybody loved it! I coated some corn flakes in melted margarine and spread it over the dish as a topping--this added some appealing crunch to the dish. A definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is some awesome comfort food! Instead of the chopped onion I used onion powder, and I used a shredded chipotle cheddar cheese instead of just cheddar. This is scrumptous! It's great served along side a veggie omelet and bacon strips. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
So easy and a perfect portion for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Yummm....this recipe is so delicious! It makes a great breakfast & also a great side item with dinner! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I'm not much of a cook. Do you think this recipe would be ok to make the night before and then bake the next day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
A little complicated to make, but it was delicious with fresh chopped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Renaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These were very good. I took the advice of others and added french onion sour cream to give it a bit more kick. I also cooked this into the crock pot because of convenience and it came out perfect! My husband loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It's best to cook the hashbrowns first. I was trying to make this recipe (not this exact one, but one I found like this on the web) for about five tries before finally realizing that it would probably be better if I cooked the hash browns first. Other wise this is delicious recipe and me and my fiance always eat it up quick now that I know how to make it correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very Good! Made a perfect size for dinner for two. My mother and I had it for dinner with Veggies and steak and there were no leftover hashbrowns :) I did add more cheese to it, but it was otherwise perfect. Yumm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star942

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States