Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This just didn't do it for me. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My Fiancee has been making this for years for all family get togethers. she is always asked to bring this, there is never any leftovers, the only diffrence is she uses the cubed potatos (Southern style hash browns)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a receipe that I have been making for years. My family loves it, and it is always requested that I make if for a Potluck dinner. The receipe that I do though is a little different, and makes much more then what this one makes. I use a large container of sour cream, 1 whole can of Cream Of Chicken Soup, 2 cups of Shredded Cheddar Cheese. Once I have mixed everything together and have place it into a large Rectangular Baking dish (usually a 9-12 inch dish works), I then cover the Hashbrown mixture completely with Corn Flakes, and then pour a 1/4 cup of Melted Butter on top. Cover it with Tin Foil and bake it at 350 degrees for appox. 1 hour or until the Hashbrowns are heated through and everything is bubbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I always make extra so there are leftovers. Also, you can make ahead and freeze. Thaw before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My family has done this recipe for years and it's always a big hit. We use green onions! The extra bonus is, you can do it the night before, and keep it in the fridge til you're ready to bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
You can make this up the night before & refrigerate. I've been making this for the past 20 years. You can do many variations: southern or O'Brien hash browns, co-jack or pepper-jack cheese, diced roasted green chiles, 1/3 cup crumbled cooked bacon, cooked & crumbled Italian sausage, diced ham, diced tomato, red or yellow bell pepper, etc. And the list goes on! Just use your imagination and look at what you need to use in your frig. I also use dried onion and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This dish is awesome. A friend gave me this recipe and I've since made it for parties and everyone raves over it. There is NEVER any left for breakfast! Some slight variations... I use the southern style hash browns from Ore Ida (the little square ones) and add an entire 16 oz container of sour cream. I also layer uncrushed corn flakes over the top and melt an entire stick of butter and pour over the corn flakes. Makes for a nice crispy layer on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I've been making this for years but use cheddar cheese soup in place of the cream of chicken soup and it also eliminates all the cheddar cheese with the exception of what goes on top. I also, as one poster wrote, crumble corn flakes on top and dribble with butter and cheese. This makes a lot in a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Outstanding. Prepped the night before. Reminded me of Cracker Barrel! Adjusted the serving size for 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very Good! Made a perfect size for dinner for two. My mother and I had it for dinner with Veggies and steak and there were no leftover hashbrowns :) I did add more cheese to it, but it was otherwise perfect. Yumm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star942

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States