Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made it a point to read as many reviews as possible and took them all into consideration. If you're on a low sodium diet, this meal is not for you, however with my altercations, my family devoured it. I have an incredibly picky family to feed. Husband is a cook (but hates cooking at home), son 10 picky and never hungry, my 2 year old won't eat anything unless he watches me cook it. 1 can potato soup 1 C low fat sour cream thawed hashbrowns sharp cheddar 1 C (save some for top) monteray/chedder mix 1 C Mrs. Dash (original- I use this alot) Garlic powder to taste Freshly cracked Pepper Sprinkle of Cumin Mix it all up, top with sharp chedar and sprinkle with parmesan 375 for 1 hour. The boys were all incredibly happy and all had second and third helpings. My job was done Until I had to prep the turkey spaghetti sauce for the veggie lasagna tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was pretty good! Made as directed with the exception of adding a small bit of minced onion. My half batch was still a little undercooked after 1 hour (and I started with half-thawed potatoes), so I'll add maybe an extra 15 mins next time and cover for the first half of the baking time. Think I'll reduce the sour cream a little too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Instead of diced ham, I used bacon. It is always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I've had this recipe twice now. First time was for guests during breakfast and we loved it. Second time was Thanksgiving and everyone made statements to the effect of wow this is good. Best yet it's really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made a few changes to this and everyone loves it. Instead of ham I use andoile sausage and I use pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar. One family sized potato soup works. This recipe rocks Never grows old!It turns the flavor up just enough, but not hot. Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very tasty! I took it to my office and it disappeared. Highly recommended. Having said that, while I intended to make no changes, I was overcome by events! I went to the store and forgot to get ham. So I ended up using some andouille sausage I had in the freezer. I cut up two sausages (Johnsonville) and it wasn't enough. You couldn't really taste the meat. I find this recipe to be incredibly versatile - I think you could use bacon, ham, sausage or even ground beef. I'm guessing you really do need 8 oz. - I went light on the andouille since I didn't know how spicy it would be. I also used O'Brien potatoes instead of regular hashbrowns. An excellent change! I used the cream of potato soup and all cheddar cheese. Two cups in the mix and a then a cup spread on top instead of the parmesan. I've also decided that if you take out the meat, the recipe would make a fantastic potato side dish. Either way, a total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
We loved this but I think next time I might add some green chilies. I used only 1 cup of parmesan cheese which was more than enough. A nice way to switch up a standard potluck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaxMom
Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was delicious, and the leftovers microwaved well. I made it according to the recipe, although I did add a little extra cheese (Being from Wisconsin, I do that automatically). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was so easy to make and it was really tasty. I would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenWSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I make something similar to this whenever we have family gatherings. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States