Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
By virtue of the high ratings and liking the ingredients listed I gave it a try. Can't say it was all that wonderful. Perhaps I just prefer my hashbrowns crisp and this recipe of course doesn't facilitate that kind of dish. The amount of sour cream seemed high and taste stood out. I would only try again with modification of cutting back on the sour cream a little bit and turning the mix towards the end to actually brown some of the potatoes. It's a preference thing. If you don't like your hashbrowns not brown then I would avoid this one unless you were going to turn the mixture at the end of cooking. Perhaps frequent turning under the broil setting. It might be super for those who love sour cream and enjoy eating their hashbrowns without being crisp (the coating of cheese you put on the top hinders the ability to actually brown the potato part. Perhaps I just like mine more done. Another alternative one might try if they like a more cooked taste is set the temp to 400 and cook for 1:15. It's probably not a bad one if you play with it a bit. But as the directions are understand you will likely get what I just described. If you like it that way, great. Obviously many people here did. Don't expect this to have crisp potatoes and do expect a heavy sense of sour cream. I mean 1lb of sour cream is hitting it a tad heavy in my opinion. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Super easy & quick recipe. I added 16oz of ham, garlic & onion powder, black pepper, and chopped onions to the mix. I also only had 1 can cream of potato so I used that plus 1 can of cream of mushroom. SInce so many were saying it was too salty, I used a thin layer of shredded cheddar on top plus a little sprinkle of real parmesan on top (about 4 T) instead of all parmesan. I covered mine with aluminium and rempoved it for the last 20 mins to get brown on top. This is truly a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Loved this casserole!! The only thing I would change is maybe use low sodium cream of potato(if there is such a thing) to help with the salty taste. This will become a staple in my household for now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Made it last night for a quick and easy dinner and it's a keeper for sure. Added onion and used just a bit more sour cream like some reviews suggested. it sparked a 30 min discussion of all the stuff you could do to this casserole and all the ingredients you could use...I can see how this is going to be so much fun to play with, but loved it as is also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Gosh, I love this. The only thing I did differently was to use mild cheddar cheese instead of sharp. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is a great tasting, super quick recipe that can be made in a few minutes. Great for a Sunday School or pot luck event. It received excellent reviews. Will make again and do note that for a family there is a ton of servings if treated as a side dish instead of a main dish. Only modification I want to try is cream cheese instead of sour cream. Price alert! The ingredients for this cost me $18. Here's why; used only premium brands and of course, no generics or store brands. The ham was around $8 for an 8-9 ounce ham steak. Parmesan cheese, not the stuff in the green plastic jar, was a bit pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
we LOVE this! I've made this many times. We used mushroom soup the 2nd time around (preference)it was just as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great recipe! I did have to make some changes though. They were out of shredded hashbrowns at my grocery store so I used diced potatoes instead. I also bought a small bag of "stir fry vegetables" and added it in so it was less breakfast-y but then there wasn't enough sauce so I added a can of cream of mushroom I had in my cupboard. Definitely recommend adding the vegetables, but that's just how I like my casseroles. Family agreed, 4/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C4TLADY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is awesome. I halved the recipe but it still very very good. Hubby loved it and liked it even it was a left over. Very good even reheated. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Makes way more than I expected, but it was delicious. Next time I will add a little more flavor like caramelized onions and peppers. This recipes was lightening fast to assemble and then the oven does the rest, I loved that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States