Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent receipe. My family raved about this dish...definitely a repeat receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was perfect just as written. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Decided to take a chance and make this for an office event based solely on the reviews here. I can't eat gluten so couldn't even taste it ahead of time for proper seasoning. It was a huge hit! Everyone kept looking for more, but unfortunately I'd only made two trays of it. Thanks for a great recipe! The changes I made: Doubled the recipe, and doubled the ham on top of that. Added yellow pepper, onion, garlic, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I agree with the others.. this is better than other recipies recipes and I think it is due to the potatoe soup. I used frozen O'brien potatoes (with the peppers chopped in it) 1 1/2 bags, 3 cans of soup, shredded cheese from Costco... and everything else it called for... NO EXTRA SALT (the ham was enough). Cut ham into big pieces (not little tiny ones). Everyone LOVED it... really. They ate for breakfast and lunch. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Just made this, but with cracker crumb topping and added 1/2 cup of Pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was good but we think that we like this kind of dish better with sausage, instead of ham. If I make again I will use some of my own cooked ham instead of the chopped packaged ham that I used this time. I will say that I did like the potato soup and sour cream flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I'll never put a can of soup in anything as a general thickener, and I don't use processed potatoes when my own fresh are so much better, but I still recommend the recipe. Instead of using 2 cans of processed condensed soup, just cook 6 medium potatoes, cubed into about 1cm cubes, in boiling water for 10 minutes or until the potato is still intact at the edges but is tender to the point of a sharp knife. Withhold 1/2 of water, drain the potatoes, and use the withheld 1/2 water, combined with 1C milk and 1C sour cream, for the sauce. Of course I pan fried the ham with an onion and fresh herbs (1 sprig of chopped thyme, 1 sprig of chopped rosemary and 3 cloves of garlic) until brown first. Delish! Because you cooked the potatoes first in boiled water, the oven time of the recipe is cut by 1/2. You can also finish the dish by broiling it for 5 minutes to give it a lovely brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved it! In consideration of what sounded very rich and high in fat I used the ham and potatoes but skipped the parm, cut sour cream and soup in half, added about 1/3 cup low fat milk and used about 12 ozs of shredded cheese blend. I was nervous that I might have ruined it but it was excellent. It was moist and had delicious flavor even the next day as left overs. Thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Very easy. Was a little bland, but I did not use the Parmesan - that might add the zip we were missing with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States