Cheesy Ham and Asparagus Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was good. I added mushrooms and used canadian bacon instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I truly enjoyed this recipe, but the husband and teenagers weren't especially pleased. It was definitely too salty and I had added lots of mushrooms and my own selection of cheeses, which made it a hit for ME...but not them, lol. I would make it again for the girls, and omit the salt...but my family is strictly "meat and potatos".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This is a very delicious brunch casserole. I cut out the 3/4t of salt because the ham and cheeses I was using were very salty. I had some beautiful fresh asparagus, so I blanched it for a couple minutes rather than using frozen.Wonderful! I baked in an 11X7 dish so that the squares I served were nice and high. Beautiful presentation! If you change the pan size, remember to increase the baking time. My 11X7 took 43 minutes (28 at 425 degrees and 15 at 375 degrees) Halfway through I covered with foil to prevent excessive browning. It cuts better if you allow it to stand 10 minutes prior to serving as the recipe suggests.Great dish, Bettina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Fabulous! I don't really like asparagus, but my husband does... so I was looking for a way to make us both happy! I used fresh asparagus and used green bell pepper instead of red- it turned out Sooooooo yummy. I have a new appreciation for asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I served this recipe to my family for Sunday breakfast, and we all thought it was great. The one thing I would warn people about is that you have to serve it immediately. It comes out of the oven all fluffy, tall, and steamy, but after 15 or 20 minutes it deflates and gets an unpleasant floury taste. Reheating it will not restore its original light fluffy texture. I used fresh asparagus precooked until just tender instead of the frozen, and I would guess that I used closer to 20 ounces than 10. I will definitely serve this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Totally awesome recipe! My sister's family loved it as well. I did make some minor changes. I sauteed the pepper and onion in 2 tsp. butter and 1 tsp. minced garlic. I left out the Tarragon and added in 1-1/2 cups mozzarella cheese along with the parmesan. And, I substituted smoked cheddar cheese for the topping! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this for my in-laws last weekend and they both seemed to really enjoy it. My husband did too! I think I will omit the red bell pepper next time I make it because I thought it overpowered the other ingredients too much. I LOVE that it can be fixed a day ahead. It made 11:00 brunch with the in-laws in a busy household a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Another hit at my job; we had a brunch, and I brought this. I used scallion onions, and added a bit of garlic powder. Was very good, and I will add it to my recipes I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I added some zucchini and mushrooms to this, and used cottage cheese instead of parmesan. I also blended in some southwest seasonings and topped it with cornflakes, which made a nice crust. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I used egg substitute instead of real eggs, cottage cheese instead of parmesan cheese, seasoned salt instead of regular salt and tarragon, and reduced fat Jimmy Dean sausage instead of ham; I added minced garlic, fresh sliced mushrooms, and sliced zucchini - the result was fabulous! Cooking time was about 30-35 minutes for this. My husband loved it, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States