Cheesy Green Bean Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish, however a bit more moisture is recommended for the bread crumb topping. I'm not sure if it was the elevation, but I had to used two eggs beaten in order for the bread crumbs to be moist enough not to fade into sawdust in the oven. I also substituted a cheddar and monterey jack mixture for the mozzarella as I like a little bite. I also sprinkled paprika and fresh ground black pepper on top of the cheese mixture, and grated fresh romano before applying the bread crumbs for a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Maybe this is a great recipe if you use frozen green beans, but I think it's practically inedible! A friend of mine picked green beans from her garden so I wanted to find a good side dish recipe. The cheesy sauce is wonderful, but the beans are like leather, impossible to chew. I don't know if they got that way from being baked in the oven or if they were too ripe, not ripe enough, etc. At least the rest of it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I made this a while ago and I don't really remember it. It wasn't bad, but of course, it wasn't stellar. The top part was the best b/c of the crunchy, baked topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Yummy and easy to make. I didn't have mozzarella, so I used parmesan and used soy mozzarella. Everyone at the potluck loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
We thought it was Great! My husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I will probably use only 1 cup of breadcrumbs the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for a potluck and I increased the cheese to 1 1/2 cups as another review suggested. It was great while it was hot, but as it cooled the cheese solidifies (not so great). I will do again but only for home meals. Need to be served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This wasn't spectacular, but it was an excellent change from plan old green beans. I've only made it once and wasn't displeased. I will definately try again and maybe season it up just a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
Really fabulous recipe! The only suggestion I have is to add more mozzerella (I would actually double it next time). This is a good summer OR winter dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Not the best thing I've ever eaten. As other reviewers said more moisture is needed for the topping of bread crumbs. Next time I will also increase the cheese mixture. Also the flour used to thicken the cheese sauce is almost unnecessary (for me) it gave it a floury taste and I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Albritton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States