Cheesy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Although we all enjoyed this casserole, I felt like the Velveeta was unneccesary. It would still be cheesy without it, and the Velveeta did not melt properly, causing there to be "globs" of it all through the casserole. I will make this again, just will leave the Velveeta out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was a little too cheesy for me. The beans almost got lost in a gooey, cheesy taste. I guess I didn't like the frozen beans either. I think if I made this again, I'd choose to omit the Velveeta, use half the cheddar cheese, and use *canned* French-style green beans. I like the beans a little squishier than the slight crispness that the frozen had. On a more positive note, adding the french-fried onions in the middle, as well as on top, was nice. I did get compliments on it, though, so.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Great version of the same ol' green bean casserole. Adds some variety! And I love cheese! However, I think it might be a little TOO cheesy, all the cheese kind of drowns out the other flavors in the casserole. Next time I think I will leave out the processed cheese, or maybe just use half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I'm a cheese lover too, but wow....this recipe made me never want to eat cheese again. It was runny and way overpowering. Family told me to never make this again. Its not too late, turn back now and find another recipe...you can thank me later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I loved this green bean recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and everybody loved them. I will be making this for Christmas too! I left out the processed cheese and just used shredded cheddar cheese. It was the perfect amount of cheese and cheesey taste. I couldn't imagine how this dish would taste with all the extra velveeta added...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is Wonderful!!!! I used 2 cans of green beans instead of the frozen so the dish isn't so crunchy, and baked for about 45-60 minutes. Even if you don't like green bean casserole, you must try this. It is sooooooo good!! thank you Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This recipe is ok, but definitely can only be stomached once a year as that age-old Thanksgiving requirement. Be careful to heed the others' warnings about too much cheese and milk, and you'll do okay. Just watch how much you eat, and you shouldn't end up with a belly-ache like I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
EVERYONE LOVED THIS! I did make some changes (because I didn't have all ingredients) I used 1 can Cream of Mushroom & 1 can Cream of Celery, left out the Velveeta. I got many requests for the recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This would have been much better had I used canned green beans. The soup mixture with the cheese is awesome but I don't like frozen green beans, I should have known better. I will be making this again with canned green beans and I am sure it will be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was SO good! I used can green beans, as I never liked the toughness of frozen or fresh in the dish. I had a few extra ounces of beans since I used canned, and the mix of sauce to beans was perfect. Delicious--this recipe will be used often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States