Cheesy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Left out the Velveeta according to other comments and thought it was a little bland. Needs some spices or something to liven it up - still good and hearty, but just not too flavorful. Maybe a cheese other than cheddar would help to make it more flavorful?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I took this to Thanksgiving today; forget the kids, the adults loved it. Everyone got seconds. The recipe seemed a little runny at first but if the dish has to sit a while it turned out just right. I layered the recipe just as it indicates but ended up stirring it after 30 minutes of cooking. The Velveeta melts but in patches. Don't bother layer it. Just mix it all together and add the fried onions during the last 10 minutes of baking. I used canned french green beans and only used one cup of cheedar. Super easy and fast. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
If you like cheese this is a great recipe. I have used it for various occassions and have always gotten great responses from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe is huge so make sure you have a lot of people to eat it--in error,I made 2 recipes of this dish for a company party and 1 would have been plenty. My only complaint was that the processed cheese did not melt completely, so I had chunks of Velveeta in the beans. I guess I should have cooked it longer or used less or maybe a different type of casserole dish would have helped. I had alot of people ask for the recipe, so I guess they didn't mind the chunks!! Thanks--great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This recipe is terrible! Cooking should be about getting a good balance of tastes and textures. This has such an overwhelming amount of cheese that it's all you can taste. Made this for company and nobody finished what was on their plate. I ended up throwing 75% of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was great! A nice alternative to ordinary green bean casserole. Even my picky in-laws loved it. I omitted the velveeta and it was great. Good left over too! Its a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This recipe made my Christmas dinner. It was wonderful.....Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHASHON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Did I miss something? Although this casserole tasted just fine, inside, it was like soup. I wondered if I should defrost the frozen green beans and drain them, however the recipe never mentioned doing that. What I ended up with was something with a nice cheesy crust, sealing in a cheesy soup, which included green beans. Not sure if I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Wow, what an easy recipe. I'm a newly wed and decided that this holiday I was going to surprise everyone and show up with a dish that no one makes. I did a lot of searching for the perfect recipe and I chose this one. Man, did I do good. Thanks Chris for and easy and delicious dish. Oh yea, I didn't had the fried onion until about 5 minutes until it was finished. Delicious, And I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is Wonderful!!!! I used 2 cans of green beans instead of the frozen so the dish isn't so crunchy, and baked for about 45-60 minutes. Even if you don't like green bean casserole, you must try this. It is sooooooo good!! thank you Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States