Cheesy Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I had a craving for fried squash and I was happy to come across this recipe. Frying squash is a popular way to prepare squash in the South, albeit not the healthiest way! To make it a little bit healthier without losing the flavor, I sprayed the pan with Pam and then added about a tablespoon of olive oil. This way, you don't have to drain anything. Rather than being deep fried it's more sauteed. I made a few other adjustments. I added a sprinkling of garlic powder and Emeril's seasoning. (any seasoned salt will do.) This gave it more flavor. If make this again I will dip the squash slices in the flour mixture to get a more even coating. It got clumpy when I mixed it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
i liked the way the miracle whip sticks to the squash. i followed the directions but used salted cornmeal instead of flour. my husband loved them because the salt gave it the flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVIDJUICER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Very good recipe! Even my kids liked it. Only four starts because I, too, would like a less clumpy coating. I will dip them in flour next time rather than mix it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Not bad, but I think I would prefer it baked instead. Next time I'll substitute bread crumbs or cracker crumbs for the flour as well. I thought the onions were a nice touch though. The kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I omitted the onion because I was pressed for time, and instead of salad dressing I used buttermilk, and the results were wonderful! I also added a little finely shredded Colby/Jack cheese to the Parmesan at the end, and that was even better. I'm eating the leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DooDah2
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Not bad, but it needs seasoning. I found the flour mixture to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Delicious!! I also followed reviewers suggestions of dipping in flour seperatly rather than mixing it in, I added a little onion powder and garlic powder, plus some good ole salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I also sprinkled parmesan cheese on top everytime I removed some from the pan. Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
WONDERFUL!!! My husband now LOVES Squash and Zucinni. :-) I did take the advise of others and not put the flour in the mixture before frying. It was WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this recipie. I make it all the time, my whole family gobbles it up. You must cook the squash until it has a bit of a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I read thru the other reviews first and decided to mix the flour and parmesan cheese in a bowl first and the dredge the squash slices in the mixture so it wouldn't clump together. I also dipped the squash in Marie's ranch dressing instead of miracle whip. Added a little salt and pepper and it came out great! I would like to try baking these next time instead of frying to make these healthier. Great way to use up squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States