Cheesy Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
An awesome comfort meal for a special treat! The only thing I do differently is to pre-cook the potatoes (just microwave while they are whole till barely soft, then peel and slice). The pan splatters less and they brown faster when you start with the potatoes already cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
4 stars for taste, 2 stars for presentation. I think this would have been pretty awful if I'd followed the original recipe. Thanks to the others for the advice. Here's my version: 6 slices bacon, 3 potatoes, 4 eggs, 1/2 a red onion minced, 3 T butter, lots of s & p to taste, at least 1/2 cup of cheeses (not just cheddar - I used jack, mozz, parm, & cheddar). I drained almost all of the bacon grease and I'm glad I did. I did not cover the potatoes as I had to continually turn them to cook them evenly. Salt needs to be added to the potatoes to sweat out their moisture (speeds up the cooking time). Next time I will season the potatoes thoroughly for more flavor (maybe some celery salt, chives, red pepper flakes). Heat needs to be reduced considerably once eggs and cheese are added. Not sure how to make this prettier. I followed the advice for serving with tortillas. Rolled them up and stood them in the side of shallow bowls, spooned in the potato/egg mess and topped with chopped green onions. Sorry for the long review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
First, my Boo Boo and I would like to thank Marcia for submitting this recipe. The first we made this we followed the recipe to a T. It was good, but we felt it could be better. After experimenting with this recipe we reached a level of perfection. You see, what we do is, quadruple the amount of bacon (without using ANY bacon grease), put in 1 full green pepper, 1 full onion, and 1 full red pepper. We also experiment with different types of cheeses and we found that "taco cheese" gives it a nice kick. To top we added a Roasted Garlic and Bell Pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I am only 8 and I made this almost all by myself. I really loved this recipe. It tasted great! Even though my sister doesn't like onions, I chopped them really small, and she didn't even notice the "secret" ingredient! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made these for brunch with friends and everyone loved it! I omitted the bacon fat and just used butter, and it wasn't greasy at all. Next time I will use some green pepper or other vegetables. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
T-Bone here, This recipe is like heart attack on a plate. Tasty and greasy. If you don't mind gaining that extra girth...then eat this baby, cuz it is deliciouz. Yum. I had mine with extra bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
What isn't there to like about this? I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients, and added more bacon. The tip about microwaving the potates first was great - easily cuts the skillet time by half. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I didn't have any whole potatoes, but I did have a bag of shredded hash brown potatoes. I used 4 pieces of bacon and at first drained half the greece. I hate to admit it, but I ended up adding the rest of the grease in. I think the shredded potatoes were more in quantity than the recipe called for, so I didn't have problems with them being too greasy. I also used a whole small onion. Taking the idea from another reviewer, I used a Taco mix of cheese. Overall it was fabulous! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Very good! I used a 2 more slices of bacon and ofcourse, added a dash of onion/garlic powders to the potatoes. Also, when the potatoes were just about done, I added 1 head chopped broccoli and a few fresh/sliced mushrooms. Per another reviewer, I upped the eggs to 4 = beaten first before pouring over the potatoes to cook. Finally, I topped with a combo of sharp cheddar & mozzerella cheese. Not too greasy and VERY good. Went well with our cinnamon rolls. Thanks Marcia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These potatoes were delicious. I added a twist by adding a cup of cooked julienned carrots about halfway through frying the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Calvary, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Malone, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States