Cheesy Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
4 stars for taste, 2 stars for presentation. I think this would have been pretty awful if I'd followed the original recipe. Thanks to the others for the advice. Here's my version: 6 slices bacon, 3 potatoes, 4 eggs, 1/2 a red onion minced, 3 T butter, lots of s & p to taste, at least 1/2 cup of cheeses (not just cheddar - I used jack, mozz, parm, & cheddar). I drained almost all of the bacon grease and I'm glad I did. I did not cover the potatoes as I had to continually turn them to cook them evenly. Salt needs to be added to the potatoes to sweat out their moisture (speeds up the cooking time). Next time I will season the potatoes thoroughly for more flavor (maybe some celery salt, chives, red pepper flakes). Heat needs to be reduced considerably once eggs and cheese are added. Not sure how to make this prettier. I followed the advice for serving with tortillas. Rolled them up and stood them in the side of shallow bowls, spooned in the potato/egg mess and topped with chopped green onions. Sorry for the long review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I got hungry last night, and made soem of this for myself. I still used 2 slices of bacon, but only 1 egg and about 1/4 cup of cheese. Very yummy stuff. It really hit the spot. Of course this is greasy, that's pretty obvious reading the recipe. I don't mind the grease too much(on occasion, I don't think it's gonna hurt anything) but if you're watching your diet, this would not be a good recipe for you. OMitting any of the ingredients or substituting just doesn't seem right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
YUMMY! The whole family, including the picky eater loved this one. I served it as a side dish for dinner, so I didnt use the eggs. I plan to use this again for breakfast, and add in chopped sausages, wrapped in a warm tortilla! Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was good, but I think, after the potatoes are done the grease needs to be drained before you proceed. I prefer to cook potatoes with onions, eggs, and bacon all separate. Layer in individual ovenproof bowls, top with cheese and put under the broiler until the cheese is melted. There is just too much grease as this recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
it was a great quich and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Good start. I doubled the eggs and next time I will do 4x as many eggs and 4x as much cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
These were good will make again. I used 4 eggs and whisked them together like somebody else had suggested. A lot easier than scrambling in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Very good! I used a 2 more slices of bacon and ofcourse, added a dash of onion/garlic powders to the potatoes. Also, when the potatoes were just about done, I added 1 head chopped broccoli and a few fresh/sliced mushrooms. Per another reviewer, I upped the eggs to 4 = beaten first before pouring over the potatoes to cook. Finally, I topped with a combo of sharp cheddar & mozzerella cheese. Not too greasy and VERY good. Went well with our cinnamon rolls. Thanks Marcia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Very good! I added a few of my personal touches. First, I didn't have bacon onhand, so I just use d vegetable oil. I also added a little garlic to the onion, butter, potato mixture. Then, I used real bacon bits to substitute for the bacon. I used 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese with 1/2 c shredded mozzarella cheese. Definitely a family favorite. My husband and 2 yr old made sure there were NO leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Really yummy! I used a little more cheese than was called for and it turned out great! I wouldn't add any salt, though. The bacon is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States