Cheesy Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I didn't have any whole potatoes, but I did have a bag of shredded hash brown potatoes. I used 4 pieces of bacon and at first drained half the greece. I hate to admit it, but I ended up adding the rest of the grease in. I think the shredded potatoes were more in quantity than the recipe called for, so I didn't have problems with them being too greasy. I also used a whole small onion. Taking the idea from another reviewer, I used a Taco mix of cheese. Overall it was fabulous! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
First, my Boo Boo and I would like to thank Marcia for submitting this recipe. The first we made this we followed the recipe to a T. It was good, but we felt it could be better. After experimenting with this recipe we reached a level of perfection. You see, what we do is, quadruple the amount of bacon (without using ANY bacon grease), put in 1 full green pepper, 1 full onion, and 1 full red pepper. We also experiment with different types of cheeses and we found that "taco cheese" gives it a nice kick. To top we added a Roasted Garlic and Bell Pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I did it like the recipe but after I fried the bacon and potatoes I baked it in the oven with the cheese,and egg, very good and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe as is, but I couldn't resist the chance to change it a little. I am not too fond of eggs, so I omitted them the second time I cooked this recipe. It was just as good without the egg, although a little drier. Another time, I used different cheese. This recipe has excellent flavor and is SO versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Greasy but delicious! I did not add the egg as we had these with our dinner. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Not only is this delicious, it's so pretty on a platter! I put a few chives on top for decoration. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAMRF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
After reading the reviews, I played with the recipe a little. I used 3 slices of bacon, 3 potatoes, and 4 eggs. I also added the salt and pepper along with some onion powder and garlic powder to the potaotes while I cooked them. It was a hit for Sunday breakfast. The Boy requests it quite a bit. Thanks a bunch Marcia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made these for brunch with friends and everyone loved it! I omitted the bacon fat and just used butter, and it wasn't greasy at all. Next time I will use some green pepper or other vegetables. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Excellent!! These were a big hit in my house. I love to cook and we seem to have potatoes at least 3-4 times a week. This was a welcome recipe at my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States