Cheesy Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was pretty good. I made some slight alterations/additions though. Instead of bacon I used vegetarian bacon strips cooked in a little smart balance spread to get the flavor in the pan. I used more smart balance instead of bacon and a whole onion. I also added a chopped clove of garlic and sprinkled some chopped green onion on top before serving. I tried to make it healthy but with all the added fat, didn't quite do it. That's ok, though. It was a good treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
A wonderful comfort food for cold winter nights and Sunday mornings!I have made something similar my whole life. I also use a lot more bacon, about 1 slice per potato, and I saute in some onion. The eggs don't get scrambled in, I push the potatoes to the side and fry them. The bacon stays in the pan while the potatoes are frying, and the cheese just gets melted over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a great meal base, but I think it would have been bland if I hadn't added garlic salt and Italian seasoning to the potatoes. I also used taco cheese to mix it up a bit. Although so far I sound negative, I think this is a solid recipe for those nights when you didn't plan ahead for dinner. I used a small can of corned beef hash instead of bacon (yummy!) and kept adding a little butter here and there instead of using bacon grease. All in all, this is like an easy, open-faced omelet. Be prepared for it to look kind of messy, but for it to disappear quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Good recipe. I will make it again. I top it with different items...cilantro, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream...etc. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made this for breakfast, using 4 eggs and my hubby loved it. He requested it again for supper that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made this pretty much the exact same way, but a few years ago! It is terrific! My boys loved it! Very filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Very good. Used real bacon bits and a tiny bit of EVOO, in place of the bacon grease. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Delicious potatoes - since this recipe was for dinner, didn't add the eggs, but used more bacon. No cheddar in the house, so used motzerella, and some garlic spice. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINEEMOWSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My taste buds thank you, my hips do not-I couldn't stop eating this. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by See2Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I used turkey bacon to cut the fat and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States