Cheesy Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Thanks for sharing the recipe. This tasted OK. Probably won't make this again, but glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight- a huge hit! Called it "country breakfast in a bowl" and the kids gave it 5 stars and went back for more. I did use turkey bacon (which I removed after frying, diced up and threw back in with the cheese), added garlic and paprika and a mix of cheddar and jack cheeses ( way more than called for, lol). Since turkey bacon doesnt add grease, I used a bit of olive oil and it was not too greasy at all. Wonderful idea! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe really hit the spot! I used colby & monterey jack cheese because that's what I had but I think cheddar would have been equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These were delecious potatoes. I loved the flavor the bacon grease added!! I didn't add any of the crumbled bacon back to the poatoes and I left the eggs out because I was serving these with a bacon and egg main breakfast dish. They turned out great, I would make these the way the recipe says as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was pretty good; after coming home to basically no clean dishes, I really needed a one pan dish, and it was exactly what I wanted (bacon, eggs and potatoes).. I used chicken bacon so there was no grease for the potatoes but that was fine, I also beat the eggs first but I found the final taste to be too eggy so I will add milk the next time. Upon suggestion I also used 3potatoes, 4 eggs (next time will use 4 potatoes) and I used 4 pieces of bacon; since it's chicken kind, I was easily able to slice it into big chunks before cooking. Microwaving the potatoes really helped too. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
it was extremely greasy but tasted ok. i probably wouldn't make it again though. I drank a big glass of oolong tea to help my body block some of the oil being absorbed into my body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The potatoes were quite good, although I wish I had not put the egg with the potatoes, and made them separately. I did cook the potatoes for a bit in advance to speed up the process. I also added some garlic. I changed the recipe to make it healthier as well: I did not cook the potatoes in bacon fat; I used reduced fat margarine and cooking spray. I used premade microwave bacon that has fewer calories/fat (would've used turkey bacon if I'd had that). Low fat cheddar cheese Egg whites I would make this again, though might do JUST the potatoes and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Growing up my great grandma made these for me when I spent the summer with her. Now I make them for my family. We call them "Morning After Eggs" becuase they taste so good the morning after a late night. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Had this the other night and my husband wants me to make this every time! I didn't have cheddar in the house, so I used Italian blend cheese. Also, we topped it with ranch dressing! Phenom! Served w/ pan seared pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smithton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Delicious! My advice: use quality bacon. Use only the 2 strips called for because using more creates too much grease. If you want more bacon, drain off some of the grease before adding the potatoes or you'll have a greasy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States