Cheesy Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Like the other reviews suggested I added extra Italian seasoning, and instead of just a small tomato, I used a can of Italian style diced tomatoes - little more than a small tomato (with some juice too) so each helping would have tomato. No need to be exact on measuring the onion - 2 tbsp is a little less than a half of a small onion (I used the whole half). It was very tasty, and my husband really liked it - and he doesn't like eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Loved it, however, need to use a LARGE eggplant. Also, used multigrain toast rather than stuffing mix - worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I added red wine, extra shredded cheese, extra italian seasoning, graded parm, LOTS of garlic (I'm Italian Love garlic!!) and just played with the amount. Everyone has a different taste, but i do agree it would have been dry if I didn't add the wine ( I put a good splash in ). Every egg plant is a different size so you have to adjust accordingly or you will get over/under powered on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
We love the taste, but it tends to turn out a little dry. I add a little water (maybe 1/4 cup) when I'm mixing it up so it doesn't dry out in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
SO delicious! My husband LOVES this. I seasoned the eggplant with 3 tbs of italian seasoning before heating it in the microwave. I also used Mexican cheese mix instead of just cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This dish has so much going for it. As is, it is great! With some of the alterations,suggested by others, it is great! What I liked most is the fact that I can make it ahead of time, pull it out and bake it while relaxing with a glass of wine with my guests. I love recipes that freeze well and this one does. It is moist and tender and easy to change up according to personal taste. (I do always, add more seasonings as I grow older, to perk up tired taste-buds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I made this dish on a whim. It was incredibly easy to prepare and tasted much better than I was expecting. I added 1/4 cup Parmesean cheese though the meal would have been excellent without. Note - you can really taste the stuffing and the eggplant is not mealy or overpowering (for people that aren't huge fans). I even added some tomato sauce the 2nd day and spooned into a sub roll for a great sandwich at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Gloucester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This recipe had a little too much eggplant, and was short on seasoning. I thought it was bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I too added a tomato and red wine - nice flavor. Also cut down to about 1 cup of cheese. With a garden full of eggplant, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I didn't really like this recipe. I followed the directions exactly using stove top stuffing. I found the taste of the stuffing overpowered the taste of the eggplant. Also the leftovers didn't reheat well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States