Cheesy Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I really liked this but i was the only one in my family who would eat it. I agree it does ned an extra tsp. of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I didn't have sharp chedder cheese for this,so i substituted fresh mozzerella cheese. Added a can of diced tomatoes, as others suggested, because i thought it looked dry as well. I also followed the others, regarding the amt of italian seasoning, which i put in an extra one teaspoon. It tasted great, and we will be having leftovers from yesterday. Definitely will make again, and may make it for a potluck as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made quite a few changes and with everything I changed it turned into more a dressing than an eggplant casserole. So I wasn't sure that I should even review it. But I think this is a great base recipe and that is something I'm always looking for. I added two cups of French bread cubed, 1/2 c. chicken stock, 2 green onions chopped, 1 celery stalk minced, more garlic for taste and a fistful of chopped parsley along with doubling the Italian seasoning. I really loved this and the eggplant reminded me of my Maw Maw's oyster dressing. So I will definitely be making this again with the addition of chopped oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I read some of the reviews and decided to add a Tbs. of olive oil after softening in the microwave. I also added a Tbs. of red wine for additional flavor. When I told my husband what it was, he was not so thrilled, but was very surprised that he liked it as much as he did. It was very good. I think next time I will use another method than the microwae to soften the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Followed other suggestions with minor changes...Added small diced tomatoes with juice, used whole grain bread chunks, and sprinkled parmesian cheese on top. Blew us away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
The was fabulous! I didnt have italian seasoning, so I used Chipolte spices. It was great because eggplant is pretty bland. Very easy to make also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
As is, the recipe is too bland, hence 3 stars. So I add 1/2 cup of crumbled feta or even goat cheese. I like to use a whole grain or whole wheat stuffing. I have also added things like roasted red pepper, chopped roma tomato and/or sundried tomato. Then top it with fontina or mozarella instead of the cheddar. I realize this completely changes the recipe but I loved it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I don't think i will be trying this again. I didn't add onions (not a fan) but added tomatoes and it was still pretty dry. I also doubled the italian seasoning but just didn't have much of a taste. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is the perfect sidedish for any meal. My husband wanted to try a different recipe we had never had. So, I wasn't sure how to cook eggplant....But this recipe was so easy and it came out perfect. I will make it more often....NOW that I know what to do. Loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
As the past reviews noted I added stewed tomatoes to the receipe. Also, I would add more Italian seasoning & cheese (a little too bland for my taste). But otherwise, I would make this again for vegetarians at a dinner. I made it an hour before I cooked it and it made dinner so much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States